Ginger Beef Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Great suggestions from others on marinating the beef (soaked in Teriyaki for 1 hour before cooking) and on doubling the sauce (I would even triple the sauce). We freeze our ginger into chunks and it grates so much easier and keeps the ginger longer. I also burned the sesame seeds so I used sesame seed oil in the wok and soy bean sprouts. Turned out great but needed more cornstarch. Also used chopped cashews instead of peanuts which seemed to compliment the spicy mongolian oil I also added to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This was great - I realized just before it was time to be served that there wasn't enough sauce so I quickly doubled it and that worked great. I upped the cornstarch to a tablespoon instead of a teaspoon and that really gave the sauce some substance. We're definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Floridafoodie
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This was good but not great. It needs some zing. I tripled the sauce ingredients like some suggested. It is a little too much like Chinese take out IMO. Next time I may use a combo of hoisin and plum sauce, or some Thai chili sauce. Also I will substitute some of the water with rice vinegar. I used peanut oil for stir frying which gives much better results than vegetable oil. I had no sweet pepper, so left it out. Also, skipped peanuts and garnished with some chopped fresh water chestnut for crunch. I think cashews would be a better addition, if using nuts. A splash of sesame oil at the end is good, in place of sesame seeds. The beef could benefit by briefly marinating it in some soy or teriyaki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Floridafoodie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
my husband and i both loved this recipe!! the sauce was great! i didn't have fresh ginger so i just used ginger powder and it was still yummy! had to sub a couple veggies as i was out - but i think this one's all in the sauce! great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Doubled the garlic, upped the veggies a little, and used a tablespoon of hot chili sauce instead of red pepper flakes. This was absolutely delicious! This will be my standard stir-fry recipe from here on out. I think next time I will double the sauce though because I would like to have poured some over the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This was very tasty and flavourful. I added celery and green beens to the vegetable mixture, a pinch of salt and a teaspoon of sugar. I also doubled the amount of plum sauce. The recipe is a keeper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLIMUNDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I'd give this 4.5 stars if I could. I marrinated the sliced beef for a couple of hours in one batch of sauce (minus corn starch) then drained before stir frying. Used our favorite stir fry veggies (about twice as many) and doubled the sauce to add at the end. Was lucky and found reduced sodium plum sauce; otherwise it would have been too salty. Not spicy enough for us, so next time will either use a bit of hot chili oil or increase the red pepper flakes. Tasty and easy to put together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
This was a nice change from my usual stir fry, which doesn't include the sweet plum sauce and the salty peanuts. I followed someone else's suggestion for plum sauce substitution, combining apricot jam, honey, soy sauce and garlic, and it was great! I made half the recipe for just the two of us but doubled the sauce, and it still wasn't enough sauce. Next time I would triple the recipe for sauce. Still, it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This recipe is definitely going into our rotation as an excellent "go to" recipe. I followed the recipe fairly closely... Didn't have any plum sauce... Found out how to make enough to replace the 1/4 cup asked for: 1 TBSP. EACH of low sodium soy sauce, plum jam or apricot preserves (I didn't have either, so I used orange marmalade and it was outrageously good), honey and then 1 clove of minced garlic. The soy sauce and garlic are repeated elsewhere in the recipe ~ go ahead and add those when needed, too. I didn't have any broccoli, so I subbed a bunch of asparagus. Also, had one of those bags of Fajita Beef from the Clubs ~ used that ~ and the flavoring in there went perfectly with the dish. Put it over some Basmati Rice and my husband and I were in heaven. Next time I'll double the sauce, as others have mentioned ~ that way there will be enough to pour a little over the rice, too. Thanks for posting...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Better than take out! I subtracted the carrots and added pea pods, bamboo, and water chestnuts. B/c I add more veggies, I doubled the sauce. Even if I don't add more veggies next time, I will be doubling the sauce. It's just that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States