Ghirardelli Fudgy Gluten-Free Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Wow, this recipe is PERFECT. My partner has a gazillion allergies and can't eat practically anything, so this recipe is a lifesaver, and it's also absolutely delicious. I made some substitutions: in place of ground almonds I used a third of a cup of grated coconut. In place of butter I used the same amount of canola oil. In place of the chocolate chips I used a 4 oz bar of Ghirardelli bittersweet baking chocolate. The rice flour I used was Bob's Red Mill brand (I don't have a lot of experience yet with rice flour baking, so I'm not sure if it matters). I baked the brownies for about fifty minutes, not twenty-five like the recipe says, and my pan was 9x9 and Pyrex, and greased with canola oil, not lined with paper. The results are chewy at the edges and fudgey in the center, with a really good flavour. I like the coconut and am glad I thought to try it, because the slight grittiness it adds makes the texture much more interesting. Next time I make these I will try using coconut oil in place of the canola I used this time, for a stronger coconut flavour. I will also use parchment paper next time, because they are very stuck to the pan and hard to remove without destroying them. I can't wait to feed these to my partner, and I'm sure I will be returning to this recipe many times. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I didn't try this recipe "as is" for my first go-around. I read the reviews and tweaked based on my specific needs (which was kind of a lot! Haha!) BUT the base was a good starting point! As already mentioned in previous posts, I also substituted the almonds for almond butter. Since I am lactose intolerant, I had to use a substitute for the butter as well. I went with coconut oil. And I also used gluten, dairy, and soy free chocolate chips that I found on the health food aisle of Kroger instead of the brand suggested in this recipe. I had to bake them a little longer: about 35-40 mins instead of 20-25 (probably because of the substitutions...or maybe because I lined the baking dish with aluminum foil instead of parchment paper...whoops), but they were DELICIOUS. I topped the brownies with chopped pecans. The edges were very chewy just like I love and the inside was very soft and gooey. From two sisters who were DESPARATE for a good dessert that wouldn't make us violently ill and from our friends who think eating this stuff is "weird", we would all give this recipe (with the few additions I made) a double thumbs up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julianna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
These brownies are fabulous! I didn't have any almonds or almond flour so I substituted gluten free all purpose flour. I used organic coconut sugar. Everyone loved them. Next time I might add shredded coconut to the batter. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
very good-the next step will be to make them dairy-free...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This is DELICIOUS! Some of my favorite brownies, gluten-free or not (I was diagnosed with Celiac's at 21, and still remember the taste of those delicious Betty Crocker brownies... mmm). I only had baking chocolate, so I had to alter the recipe a little, by adding more sugar (and more sugar --> a little almond milk to adjust consistency). Soooo, so good, though. I'll be making this time and time again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by indigoplatypus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I would give 3.5 stars but unable to do so here. The flavor is good. It is probably me, but I don't care for brownies with almond flour. This is about the 3rd gluten-free brownie recipe I have tried with almond flour/almond meal. It makes them a little too heavy with an undesirable texture. I wish I would have caught on to the other reviews before I made these. Other reviewers recommended using almond butter in place of almond flour - guess I will try that someday... I have also made gluten-free brownies (different recipe) with coconut flour and the texture was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakerBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
YUM!! Definitely doesn't taste GF! I took the recommendation from a previous review and substituted almond butter for almond meal. I also used coconut sugar instead of white sugar. It's so good!! Will absolutely make it again!!! Thanks for sharing the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Amazing! Great taste and texture - my first attempt at gluten free baking and you would never think they were anything other than delicious. Hoping Ghirardelli alos has a GF chocolate chip cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This was great. I used Almond Meal from Trader Joe's. I only had salted butter - so I just skipped the salt. I used semi-sweet Chocolate Chips and only added 1/2 cup sugar. I love the simple ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Subbed almond flour for whole almonds at the amount suggested for convenience. We don't eat gluten free normally, but needed a GF recipe for a meal I made for a friend. These have become our favorite, go to recipe for brownies. On their own the are excellent, but paired with some vanilla ice cream and chocolate syrup - DIVINE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Kissed Brownie Bites

See how to make delectable brownie bites with just a hint of lemon.

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States