German Spaetzle Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Miss Claire
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
WOW! I didn't have potatoes, was too lazy to make wide egg noodles, hubby doesn't care a lot about rice, what's a cook to do? Make spaetzle! This recipe is perfect!! Here are my tips: Before you begin, put a big ole pot of water on the stove to boil. Get a collander out and set it inside a pie pan or other shallow dish. Set this next to the stove. If you are a messy cook like I am, consider covering the work area around the stove and/or knobs loosely with tinfoil. This will make cleanup easy. For the easiest way to mix up the spaetzle dough, just put all the ingredients in a food processor and process until smooth, like a gooey glue. I used a ricer to make my spaetzle. I fitted the ricer with the medium hole disc and set it on a plate next to the stove. I turned out the dough from the food processor into a mixing bowl, then I could just scoop out the dough with a big spoon or a small measuring cup and fill the ricer. Since the ricer was on a plate, the oozing goo didn't go all over my cooking area. I picked up the ricer and held it over the boiling water and gently, slowly applied pressure and squeezed out the dough/batter. I cooked the noodles for about 5 mins., then drained in the nearby collander. After that, I warmed bacon grease in an iron skillet, sauteed the spaetzle for a few minutes and then dressed them with salt and pepper. I served mine with Hungarian Paprika Chicken. OH, heaven! This recipe is soo easy and really is the best. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Claire

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Used my potato ricer-without much luck-they tasted great, but weren't nice looking at all. May try again using a different method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
My grandmother had different way to deal with the dough, and it is the one I have had the most success with. I'm in my mid 60's and grew up with these noodles. Wet a standard size metal tablespoon with water from the pot, scoop up some dough on the spoon and with another wet teaspoon slice small pieces of dough off into the water. The pieces are just flicked off the larger spoon, size will depend on how much dough you slice off the larger spoon. They are a bit time consuming but also, I think time is saved not fussing with colanders and ricers. These are dumpling type noodles and are great in chicken soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This was a delicious side with the beef dish I made. In trying to cut down on fat I didn't use butter but gently sprayed the pan with an olive oil spray. When I was ready to serve I topped it with the no fat beef/sour cream gravy that went with the beef dish. By the way, I used my flat cheese grater and it worked just fine. Oh my it was yummy. Thanks for posting this recipe. This is now in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
THESE ARE EXCELLENT. IF ANY LEFT OVER, CAN ALSO BE USED IN SOUP. MY GRANDCHILDREN LOVE THEM. YOU CAN ALWAYS ADD THEM TO A GOOD BOXED STOCK, LEFT OVER CHICKEN, MAKES GREAT SOUP ON THE GO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I had a hard time getting these to the right texture for my spatzle maker, but I think that was just my inexperience. I added additional flour and they came out OK. I thought there was a little too much nutmeg, and I will put in slightly less next time. I served it with Hungarian goulash. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Perfect spaetzle! Tastes great and goes with everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Priscilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I use my mom's spaetzle maker and they come out perfect. I use these for chicken and dumpling soup too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I've lived in Germany for years and learned how to make Spaetzles from a good German friend. These taste just like restaurant versions in Germany and my friend's home cooking. Best recipe for Spaetzles I have ever come across....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Good just lack flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States