German Spaetzle Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Worked out great but added a couple more teaspoons of flour. Maybe my eggs were bigger than the original recipe uses. Sauteed in butter with sauerkraut and caraway with a hint of salt - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Best recipes for German Spaetzle I have had yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I made this following the recipe plus adding extra flour like CookingMaMa suggested. It was wonderful!!! I sauted the spaetzle in butter with onions and a bit of garlic. It tasted just like Germany. Thanks for a great recipe and review. Sam2oona
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sam2oona

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
too sticky! I had to keep adding flour so it ended with no real taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Good recipe, made it three times now. I replaced the milk with water to loosen it up. Also I now feel the spaetzle maker is a MUST. got tired of burning my hands using a colendar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I love this recipe as it is different from my family's Schwabisch recipe. Quick idea: with left over spatzle, We add a little oil to the skillet, brown the spatzle just a little, add an egg or two scramble into the mix add any kind of deli meat, leftover meat or bacon top off with grated swiss cheese...my kids LOVE this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I made this but it didnt really come out very good my suggestion would use a ricer machine they might come out better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This is a keeper...made it on the spur of the moment for a change from the regular potatoes. It was quick, easy and turned out perfect...just like in a restaurant, I couldn't believe I haven't tried sooner. Not enough to try as leftovers. Next time I will double the batch. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lakelady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I really like this Spaetzle. The Nutmeg was a nice touch. I put this in a Pea Soup that I made. Very Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Fernando, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I made these to go with chicken paprikash, so left out the nutmeg - wasn't sure how that would blend with the main dish. I tripled the recipe, but only used five eggs and 1 1/4 cup milk because others said it was runny. It really didn't matter if the dumplings were shaped like spaetzle, so I used two teaspoons - scooping up dough on the tip of one and scrapping it off into the pot with the back of another. Worked great. Would definitely add more pepper and other seasonings as they were a little bland tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States