German Spaetzle Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I love this recipe as it is different from my family's Schwabisch recipe. Quick idea: with left over spatzle, We add a little oil to the skillet, brown the spatzle just a little, add an egg or two scramble into the mix add any kind of deli meat, leftover meat or bacon top off with grated swiss cheese...my kids LOVE this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I made this but it didnt really come out very good my suggestion would use a ricer machine they might come out better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This is a keeper...made it on the spur of the moment for a change from the regular potatoes. It was quick, easy and turned out perfect...just like in a restaurant, I couldn't believe I haven't tried sooner. Not enough to try as leftovers. Next time I will double the batch. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lakelady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I really like this Spaetzle. The Nutmeg was a nice touch. I put this in a Pea Soup that I made. Very Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Fernando, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I made these to go with chicken paprikash, so left out the nutmeg - wasn't sure how that would blend with the main dish. I tripled the recipe, but only used five eggs and 1 1/4 cup milk because others said it was runny. It really didn't matter if the dumplings were shaped like spaetzle, so I used two teaspoons - scooping up dough on the tip of one and scrapping it off into the pot with the back of another. Worked great. Would definitely add more pepper and other seasonings as they were a little bland tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I use 3 eggs to a cup of flour and milk in order to gave a higher protein content. I cook them, then dehydrate in my dehydrator, and can store indefinitely in a jar. I use a Norpro spaetzle maker I got from Amazon, and it is the the perfect tool. For $10, don't skimp on bad equipment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This recipe is fantastic, I did enhance with garlic powder instead of the nutmeg as I was putting the spaetzle into chicken soup and it turned out wonderfully, just like a remembered from my Dad when he made his infamous chicken soup with little spaetzle like dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
It will whisk you away to Bavaria!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I've never had authentic spaetzle, but was making rouladen and it was suggested that it be accompanied by braised cabbage and spaetzle. I thought I'd love it, since it seemed like it was just a kind of rustic buttered noodle. Well, I tried to push the dough through the large holes of a cheese grater - that did NOT work. I actually gave up at that point. I added a ton of flour (as another reviewer suggested) to try to get it to work. One of the guys I was making it for, had made it before and his wife makes it a lot. He did need to thin in out, since I added so much flour, so apparently the consistency initially was more correct. He though the cheese grater idea was ridiculous though. He used a spatula and pushed the dough through the holes of a colander, placed over the pot of boiling water. Toward the end, he just would drop dough in, in a free form fashion. He said it looked just like his wife's. Once it was done, I sauteed the spaetzle in a lot of butter and was thinking it should be delicious. It was....bland. No flavor at all. Even with salt, pepper and parsley, I didn't think it was worth eating much of it. But the guy that helped me said it tasted as it should. Not sure what the fuss was about. I'd go with buttered egg nooodles or mashed potatoes in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I didn't mind this recipe it was really easy to make and to follow, but I found they were a bit heavy not a fluffy as I have had before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States