German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
This was wonderful! Reminded me of the red cabbage my very German grandmother used to make when I was a child. I made it for an Oktoberfest dinner we hosted (also used the Jaegerschnitzel and Easy Apple Strudel recipes from this website). My kids wrinkled their noses at the smell of the cabbage while I was cooking it, but it was so worth it! I also served spaetzle (I used a box brand because I didn't have time to make it from scratch). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THELBERG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prescott, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I made this recipe as a Christmas present for my mother. When my grandfather was still alive, they would have this with thier dinner every Christmas. She said it was exactly like the traditional German recipe and loved it very much. It truly is INCREDIBLE! The aroma that fills the house with the apples and vinegar and spices...it's just the epitome of winter. We will be using this recipe often. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
We have visited Germany 5 times and I did not have any cabbage any better than this. If you had 6 stars, that is what I would rate. I made an all German meal but it was the cabbage everyone raved obout. Even my wife who does not usually like cabbage said she would eat this any time I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PFEDDE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
Just like my Omi's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
Excellent....just added a little more vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Delicious. My 5 year old thought the smell was great, which is why he tried it. He didn't go for it, but his little friend did. This was great and such a nice change of pace in the veggie department. Will definately be part of my fall rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This is THE BEST recipe ever! It does not need any adjustments. I didn't have a cheesecloth so I just added all the ingredients in the pot and picked out the big pieces when I saw them. Very authentic and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
306 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
So easy to make and delicious! It was a big hit with my family, will definitely be making this again. I didn't have any whole allspice so just omitted it, but it came out fine. I made this a day ahead and then just heated it up on the stove for dinner when guests came. Served with Sauerbraten that had marinated for 2 days and this was a bigger hit than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I love this recipe!!! The cabbage is just amazing. I have been eating it for lunch and snacks for a couple of days. It's so good! It's also pretty tasty cold, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Good - I wanted mine a bit richer, so I added some more butter to the leftovers. So far, though it is closest to the flavor I am looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States