German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
As a West-Berliner, I highly recommend this recipe, which is almost the same as that which my late mother used. What is missing, however, is the peel of 1/8 of a lemon. Also, please, please, cut down on the sugar and vinegar!!!! I suggest 1/2 of the recommended amounts. The end product should be sweet-sour and not sweet and the taste of the cabbage should still be evident. Besides, less sugar is healthier and diabetic-friendly. Another comment if I may- to avoid the red cabbage becoming mushy, I suggest a much shorter cooking time. The end result should be a firm but not raw, crunchy cabbage! Sonnst ist alles perfekt! :) :) :) However, if you wish to read authentic german recipes from Germany, scroll down to the bottom of allrecipes, select Germany.... and without any delay you have what you need. 100% german recipes!! Use a FREE online dictionary for translation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I made this for Xmas and my German grandma said my red cabbage recipe was great, so it gets 5 stars from us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
So yummy and easy to make! I didn't have cheesecloth, so I just put the spices directly in the pot. My 9 year old daughter loved it! This recipe can probably be made without the thickener (cornstarch/water) at the end, it got a bit thick, but it all depends on how you like your cabbage. This tastes just like a German deli's salad that is near our house. Oh, and my German hubby says that this is just like his grandmother's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCFoodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Wow! Thank you so much for this recipe. The only thing I changed was used Agave Nectar instead of sugar and it turned out amazing. My 3 year old daughter has been sick for about a week and getting her to eat has been a nightmare. The purple color caught her attention and she ate 2 helpings. My husband kept going back for more and it even turned into a midnight snack. This dish has made it onto my go to list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Thank you Ardis for this recipe. I enjoyed seeing my family reaching for second servings of a healthy vegetable. Based on comments from other reviewers, and knowing my families tastes; I reduced the vinegar to 2 tablespoons and the sugar to 2 tablespoons. I cut the water to 3/4 cup and omitted the cornstarch. I followed all other instructions to the letter. I will keep this recipe on my "serve often" list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Delicious! I made this tonight with some bratwurst and potato pancakes for a German meal. I did not have the apples so I left those out. I would have added them if I had them. The spices were just right. I was doubting the clove and allspice at first but after cooking for an hour and 15 minutes, it tasted perfect. I used 1/4 head of cabbage for 2 people and it was plenty for us and we had leftovers. I used ground cloves and allspice and just put them right in the pot. I omitted the starch at the end. Beautiful German dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I made this after a trip to Prague to try to capture some of the flavors from the trip for friends back home. Very authentic and a great colorful side dish. Goes well with other winter veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Very good proportions of spices! This side dish is a staple of Fall for my European in-laws.I added homegrown/homesmoked cooked bacon....mmmm...The only thing that I will change next time is that I will add less water as I found it had a little too much. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I used brown sugar and used pickling spice that I placed in a tea ball so I could take the spices out easily. At the end I added a smidgen of dried dill. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Very good. I didn't have the whole spices, so I used a dash of each. I used a little less than 1/2 cup sugar, and will reduce it to a little less than 1/4 cup next time - it was very sweet. Will definitely make again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States