German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This is THE BEST recipe ever! It does not need any adjustments. I didn't have a cheesecloth so I just added all the ingredients in the pot and picked out the big pieces when I saw them. Very authentic and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
306 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I ruined it :( (I still gave it a 5 so that its rating wouldn't suffer from my mistakes). I didn't have whole spices so I used ground ones and way too much of them. It was inedible. My advise: if you don't have whole spices either omit them or use ground ones VERY sparingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
We have visited Germany 5 times and I did not have any cabbage any better than this. If you had 6 stars, that is what I would rate. I made an all German meal but it was the cabbage everyone raved obout. Even my wife who does not usually like cabbage said she would eat this any time I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PFEDDE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This is an excellent and authentic tasting German red cabbage recipe. I did have to add more sugar at the end of cooking, however, as mine was mouth puckering tart. It could have been my apples, but I would definitely give it a taste test before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I made this recipe as a Christmas present for my mother. When my grandfather was still alive, they would have this with thier dinner every Christmas. She said it was exactly like the traditional German recipe and loved it very much. It truly is INCREDIBLE! The aroma that fills the house with the apples and vinegar and spices...it's just the epitome of winter. We will be using this recipe often. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This is good and pretty. I wish I'd sliced the cabbage and onion thin, though. And I suspect that there should be 2 TABLESPOONS rather than 2 teaspoons cornstarch, since no amount of simmering made it thicken or glossy as I'd hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kareno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlette, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
This is the real thing. The Germans call it Apfelrotkohl and it can be found in every market and most restaurants. Living in Germany for the past four years, I've tried many different versions, but this hands down the best. True German red cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emsdettener Koch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Emsdetten, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
This was wonderful! Reminded me of the red cabbage my very German grandmother used to make when I was a child. I made it for an Oktoberfest dinner we hosted (also used the Jaegerschnitzel and Easy Apple Strudel recipes from this website). My kids wrinkled their noses at the smell of the cabbage while I was cooking it, but it was so worth it! I also served spaetzle (I used a box brand because I didn't have time to make it from scratch). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THELBERG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prescott, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
This is the first time I have made German red cabbage but, it won't be my last. Absoluley wonderful. I fixed it with a pork roast and got rave reviews! Thanks for sharing. I wouldn't change one thing in here. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I was looking for a recipe like this one for an Oktoberfest dinner. When I was in Germany, this was a traditional dish served at holiday dinners, etc. and wanted to find a recipe that tasted just like the one found in Germany. This is it! So good and really authentic tasting. I used ground allspice in my cheesecloth, but it worked. I also added a little more butter at the end. I made this in the crock pot and it turned out great. Don't mess around with other recipes unless you use your grandma's from Germany or something. Make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States