German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Delicious! A little too sweet for our taste, so next time we will only add 1/4 cup of sugar. Otherwise, a perfect accompaniment to beef and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I made this for my German father-in-law as part of his birthday dinner. It made me feel like an incredible cook when he told me that it was very similar to the red cabbage he grew up eating as a child in Germany!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. TK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liberty, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Dad said it was just like his mothers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Woy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Anselmo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Made this as a side dish to a crown roast of pork. It was easy and delicious. The recipe does make a large amount. Next time, I'll probably halve the recipe. Thanks for a different side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Lynbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This had a good flavor, however not what I was looking for, and the texture was...blah. Having a German heritage, I love the sour kick from sour kraut and I'd hoped this would have that. Unfortunately it was way too sweet and not the least bit sour. The texture reminded me somewhat of baby food but maybe I cooked it wrong. This has great potential but it just wasn't for my family. Thanks anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Delicious! This came out quite sweet and a little tangy-- great flavor. I used Splenda rather than sugar and did not have cheesecloth, so I left the whole spices in the cabbage. It made a ton but improves with time, so leftovers are welcomed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This smells so good cooking. I usually add a little more clove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randi T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Just like Mom made. I used a 1/4 cup of sugar though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Excellent, and my spousal unit said that it smelled like his grandma's kitchen. I do have to laugh at the instruction to put the spices in cloth, tie up corners and "stir with a kitchen string". Not policing, just made me laugh, picturing someone stirring with a kitchen string.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
We all went back for seconds and thirds! The only changes made...I used 1 apple and chicken broth instead of water. Served it with roasted potatoes and pan seared pork loin. Washed it down with some Guinness. Mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States