German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I am making it right now, it's almost done but I made some changes, I didn't have any of the mentioned whole spices so I added juniper berries and ground pepper instead, instead of cider vinigar I put in balsamic vinigar and because I don't use white sugar, I added couple of tablespoons of agave sirup. Instead of water I put in red wine. It's turning out to be very dark purple, probably because of the dark vinigar and wine but the cabagge I used was very dark and tough so it's cooking much longer, about 2 hours and all liquid already evaporated so I am not thickening it with starch since I don't I don't use processed starch. It tastes really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Wow, this was even better than I thought it would be... and that is saying a lot considering how much I love cabbage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
We made 1/2 a head of red cabbage and cooked the cabbage first in 4 pats of butter and 1/2 cup of water for 20 minutes. We halved all of the ingredients and added only ground allspice since we did not have whole and put the whole spices in without a tea ball. We cooked the onions in butter separately and then added to the cooked cabbage along with the rest of the ingredients. We brought to a boil and cooked for an additional 20 minutes. My husband said it tasted just like the Hungarian red cabbage that was made by a Hungarian friend. We loved it and now we have a new vegetable dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This was soo yummy! Did everything as written and we all loved it, even those who hate cabbage loved this side dish which I made with Rouladen from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
If I only had all the ingredients, I would have probably rated this SIX stars. I had a head of red cabbage sitting in the fridge that I bought for something else, but was too lazy to make it. I'm not a fan of cabbage and especially not a fan of sweeter-type dishes. But WOW.. I didn't think this would ever taste this great. I didn't have cloves and allspice, but the recipe turned out phenomenal. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This was so VERY good!! I couldn't help taking spoonfuls of leftovers right out of the fridge - altho' I did like it better warm. :) I did adapt somewhat - thus 4 stars. I chopped up about 1/2 lb of bacon and sauteed that with the onions until translucent, then added the rest of the veggies. I have very strong raw apple cider vinegar, so I only added about 3/4 cup - and it was still too tart. I used brown sugar and I had to sweeten it more to get a balanced sweet/sour taste - I probably ended up with about 3/4 C Brown sugar. I only had ground allspice so used a scant 1/2 tsp of that, upped the cloves to about 4 whole cloves, and just threw everything in the pot - picked out the whole spices when I ran into them. I didn't feel like messing with bringing it back up to boil for the cornstarch so I just used some arrowroot I had on hand - turned out perfectly! :) This is a definitely do-over, and go-to recipe for me now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovetoCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Terrific recipe, made it exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing. Turned out perfectly, can't wait for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harpersfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Served this with corned beef instead of the traditional steamed cabbage, sooo much more flavor! Put the spices in a tea ball infuser,much easier to remove. The moisture cooked out almost completly, so no need for the cornstarch mixture..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kimberly, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
My husband said this was just like the Red Cabbage he had while in Germany! It is very simple to make & our kids even liked it. Perfect compliment to our Reuben Sandwiches to celebrate St. Patrick's Day! This will become a frequently used recipe in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I used a tea strainer since I did not have any cheese cloth. Worked great. Next time I will use less sugar. A crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States