German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I am making it right now, it's almost done but I made some changes, I didn't have any of the mentioned whole spices so I added juniper berries and ground pepper instead, instead of cider vinigar I put in balsamic vinigar and because I don't use white sugar, I added couple of tablespoons of agave sirup. Instead of water I put in red wine. It's turning out to be very dark purple, probably because of the dark vinigar and wine but the cabagge I used was very dark and tough so it's cooking much longer, about 2 hours and all liquid already evaporated so I am not thickening it with starch since I don't I don't use processed starch. It tastes really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Wow, this was even better than I thought it would be... and that is saying a lot considering how much I love cabbage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
We made 1/2 a head of red cabbage and cooked the cabbage first in 4 pats of butter and 1/2 cup of water for 20 minutes. We halved all of the ingredients and added only ground allspice since we did not have whole and put the whole spices in without a tea ball. We cooked the onions in butter separately and then added to the cooked cabbage along with the rest of the ingredients. We brought to a boil and cooked for an additional 20 minutes. My husband said it tasted just like the Hungarian red cabbage that was made by a Hungarian friend. We loved it and now we have a new vegetable dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This was soo yummy! Did everything as written and we all loved it, even those who hate cabbage loved this side dish which I made with Rouladen from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
If I only had all the ingredients, I would have probably rated this SIX stars. I had a head of red cabbage sitting in the fridge that I bought for something else, but was too lazy to make it. I'm not a fan of cabbage and especially not a fan of sweeter-type dishes. But WOW.. I didn't think this would ever taste this great. I didn't have cloves and allspice, but the recipe turned out phenomenal. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This was so VERY good!! I couldn't help taking spoonfuls of leftovers right out of the fridge - altho' I did like it better warm. :) I did adapt somewhat - thus 4 stars. I chopped up about 1/2 lb of bacon and sauteed that with the onions until translucent, then added the rest of the veggies. I have very strong raw apple cider vinegar, so I only added about 3/4 cup - and it was still too tart. I used brown sugar and I had to sweeten it more to get a balanced sweet/sour taste - I probably ended up with about 3/4 C Brown sugar. I only had ground allspice so used a scant 1/2 tsp of that, upped the cloves to about 4 whole cloves, and just threw everything in the pot - picked out the whole spices when I ran into them. I didn't feel like messing with bringing it back up to boil for the cornstarch so I just used some arrowroot I had on hand - turned out perfectly! :) This is a definitely do-over, and go-to recipe for me now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovetoCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Terrific recipe, made it exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing. Turned out perfectly, can't wait for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harpersfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Served this with corned beef instead of the traditional steamed cabbage, sooo much more flavor! Put the spices in a tea ball infuser,much easier to remove. The moisture cooked out almost completly, so no need for the cornstarch mixture..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kimberly, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
My husband said this was just like the Red Cabbage he had while in Germany! It is very simple to make & our kids even liked it. Perfect compliment to our Reuben Sandwiches to celebrate St. Patrick's Day! This will become a frequently used recipe in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I used a tea strainer since I did not have any cheese cloth. Worked great. Next time I will use less sugar. A crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States