German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I'm not sure what I did wrong, but I found this mediocre at best. The vinegar was overpowering, and there was nothing particularly appealing about this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
UPDATE: GAVE MY PARENTS LEFTOVERS TO SERVE WITH THE BRATS THEY WERE GRILLING FOR DINNER AND THEY LOOOVED THIS! Super yum! I REALLY enjoyed this. My hubs didn't like this as much as I did, but he is not a fan of sweet sides or cabbage. :( He DID agree that this is as good if not better than our local German restaurant's cabbage tho.... Not only is this SUPER easy to prepare, it's convenient too! I was able to prep during my lunch hour (I now work out of my house) and then start cooking toward the end of the day so that this was done right as my hubs walked in the door. Other than doubling the cornstarch / water slurry (as is, my cabbage was too soupy for my liking), I changed NOTHING. To make good use of one of my kitchen gadgets, I added all of my spices to a tea ball. Oh, and I used 3 smallish Granny Smith apples (my favorite variety) because my grocer didn't have large ones. NOTE: To core a head of cabbage, simply cut the stem off so that you have a flat surface to lie the cabbage upright, then slice in half thru the stem and then slice each half in half. You'll end up with 4 wedges with a core at the end of each (i.e. quarters). Just cut out the core (on the diagonal) and viola! - you've successfully cored your cabbage! Served with authentic German frankfurters (not the Ballpark stuff!), spatzle, pretzel rolls and Woodchuck Fall cider, this was an AWESOME meal! I'm soooo glad I have leftovers. :) Thanks Ardis!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Great recipe . . . I have fresh red cabbage from the garden and wanted a recipe like this to make and serve as a side dish at cook-outs, this would go great as a side dish at any cook-out and it is much healthier than potatoe salad. Thanks for sharing, The Peev . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookieman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Very good--I've never had any German red cabbage before, so I trust all the other reviews as to its authenticity. I used granny smith apples, and they did just melt into the cabbage. It might be a good idea to add another diced apple halfway through cooking, so you do get some cooked apple texture. I did add a little extra butter, and I used some chicken stock in lieu of water. Other than that, made just as written. Thanks for a delicious side dish (I plan on throwing in a few sausages next time for a one pot meal!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
LOVED it!!! Added raisins but other than that it was perfect as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Made this recipe to go with Wienerschnitzel and Spaetzle and it was delicious! I love red cabbage and homemade is always better-Made the recipe as directed and it was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I made this with Weiner schnitzel and it was AMAZING! The perfect German meal. The cabbage has just the perfect amount of sweetness and acidity to make you go back bite after bite. I will definitely be making this on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This is so close to my husbands Omie's recipe. the only thing I do differently is instead of using the cheesecloth I take the onion whole, and stick the cloves in the onion and allspice and peppercorns. Than at the end i remove the whole onion and bay leaf. Oh and I don't add the apples every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Sand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Swansea, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I had been craving this for a few weeks and was not disappointed at all! This recipe makes for a delicious dish. I only make half a cabbage for the two of us and it still was too much. Make sure you have a GIANT pot if you want to make the entire head. The apples really set this off. Mmmmhhhmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eponaries

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Yum! This was my first time making Rotkohl from scratch but by no means my first time eating it. My grandmother is German, and I lived over there for a couple years. With a bit of chopped, fried bacon added to the recipe (perhaps in place of the butter), this would be 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States