German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Left out the onion, butter and allspice and it was fantastic. I served it to 5 people who had never eaten it before and it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Next time I think I'll use a bit less vinegar and drain after cooking. Managed to get 3/4 of the family to eat it and that says a lot with our daughters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Mine was a little more tart than I'd have liked, but easily remedied with a little more sugar. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
People, this is the real deal. I've tried many recipes and finally a correct version of what they eat in German homes and restaurants. I didn't have a cloth or spice bag so I just threw in the bay leaf and cloves and removed them after it was done. It tastes even sweeter & better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I had all the ingredients in my fridge and needed to cook something and found this recipe. Not something I have ever had before except maybe in a restaurant but this was really good. Went well with my crab cakes. I used stevia in place of the sugar so if it was good with stevia you know it is going to be even better with sugar. I didn't have whole allspice so just put a PINCH of ground allspice in and it was great. I forgot to put the spices in a little cheesecloth so will just keep my eyes open for the two cloves (I didn't have any bay leaf).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I followed the recipe exactly except I substituted Splenda for the sugar to reduce carbohydrates. The only thing I would do differently is cut the onion circles in half - some of them got a bit stringy as they cooked and became difficult to get onto the fork. We ate it with beer brats and some cottage cheese. A nice, cold beer is the only thing that would have made it better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I made this for an Oktoberfest party. I didn't have whole allspice or whole cloves, so I substituted 1/4 tsp of ground allspice and 1/4 tsp cloves. I had the whole peppercorns and bay leaves, which I placed in a tea infuser. Our guests loved this recipe with several asking to take some home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
awesome, it was just the right amount of sweet, i made it with schnitzel,and together they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cam sh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Delicious and makes the house smell fantastic. I didn't have whole allspice, so I sprinkled in some dried (maybe 1/2 tsp), but otherwise I made it exactly as written. I served it with roast pork. The kids were pretty skeptical about it, but my husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Authentic tasting. It is an acquired taste. I think saying this feeds only 6 people is a low estimate. Picky kids only ate a few teaspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States