German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Left out the onion, butter and allspice and it was fantastic. I served it to 5 people who had never eaten it before and it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Next time I think I'll use a bit less vinegar and drain after cooking. Managed to get 3/4 of the family to eat it and that says a lot with our daughters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Mine was a little more tart than I'd have liked, but easily remedied with a little more sugar. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
People, this is the real deal. I've tried many recipes and finally a correct version of what they eat in German homes and restaurants. I didn't have a cloth or spice bag so I just threw in the bay leaf and cloves and removed them after it was done. It tastes even sweeter & better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I had all the ingredients in my fridge and needed to cook something and found this recipe. Not something I have ever had before except maybe in a restaurant but this was really good. Went well with my crab cakes. I used stevia in place of the sugar so if it was good with stevia you know it is going to be even better with sugar. I didn't have whole allspice so just put a PINCH of ground allspice in and it was great. I forgot to put the spices in a little cheesecloth so will just keep my eyes open for the two cloves (I didn't have any bay leaf).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I followed the recipe exactly except I substituted Splenda for the sugar to reduce carbohydrates. The only thing I would do differently is cut the onion circles in half - some of them got a bit stringy as they cooked and became difficult to get onto the fork. We ate it with beer brats and some cottage cheese. A nice, cold beer is the only thing that would have made it better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I made this for an Oktoberfest party. I didn't have whole allspice or whole cloves, so I substituted 1/4 tsp of ground allspice and 1/4 tsp cloves. I had the whole peppercorns and bay leaves, which I placed in a tea infuser. Our guests loved this recipe with several asking to take some home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
awesome, it was just the right amount of sweet, i made it with schnitzel,and together they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cam sh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Delicious and makes the house smell fantastic. I didn't have whole allspice, so I sprinkled in some dried (maybe 1/2 tsp), but otherwise I made it exactly as written. I served it with roast pork. The kids were pretty skeptical about it, but my husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Authentic tasting. It is an acquired taste. I think saying this feeds only 6 people is a low estimate. Picky kids only ate a few teaspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States