German Chocolate Cake Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
Even though I didn't have all the ingredients,and had to wing it, this recipe is a great basic icing!! I'm only 20 and just starting to really get into cooking, but this was super easy!! It's also a very forgiving recipe, I was halfway through making the icing and realized I had forgotten the butter. I added it midway through and it turned out great anyway. The cake was extremely moist, oozy even. A+++++++++++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
this was even better than the bakery made it i now can make it my self
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msbebee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
This is delicious and very easy to make. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I made this frosting for my uncle's birthday cake. It was absolutely delicious and the entire cake was gone before the next day was over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
This is a fantastic recipe! Easy, delicious, and a great crowd pleaser. Everyone wants the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
Great taste! I brought this right up to a boil to thicken it, and I did not have pecans and it was still delicious. Thanks for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
Fabulous! Created thick and delicious frosting, not runny like some others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
This is the greatest recipe! I changed a couple of things: I used 1/2 c. of white sugar AND 1/2 c. dark brown sugar instead of plain white sugar. I also added an additional 1/2 c. of coconut. Instead of traditional German chocolate cake mix, I used a DEVIL's food...This sucker flew within the hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
Great frosting for brownies! I cut the recipe in half and I used it to frost both an 8 x 8 and 13 x 9 inch pan of brownies and it was a perfect amount. I used sweetened condensed milk in place of the evaporated milk and sugar but I found it a little runny before I started frosting so I added more coconut and some powdered sugar to thicken it up a bit. It had a bit of a milky taste while it was still warm but once it cooled it was fantastic. I've been keeping my brownies (with this icing on them) in the freezer and eating them frozen and they taste even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
Very pleased with the turn out and will use again. I did not have the evaporated milk, so i used what I did have on hand and altered it a bit,(1/2 can of sweet condensed milk and 1/2 can of whole milk). Due to using the sweet condensed milk I also used 1/4 less sugar. It turned out great. My husband took it to work for one of his employees birthday. There was none left over for him to bring me home a peice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States