German Chocolate Cake Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
I made this recipe,but I added about a tablespoon/table spoon in a half of cornstarch mixed with the evaporated milk,to thicken since some people said it was a little runny.I chopped up my pecans,(only about a half cup or less)about a 1/4 cup of lightly roasted coconut.I finished making the frosting then let it sit for about an hour,it thicken up nicely but not too thick to spread.I frosted it on a nicely refrigerated german chocolate cake and it spread magnificiently.I sell cakes/pies/cookies and food and this cake was gone in 2 minutes or less I kid u not.It was a huge huge huge hit.Also to note,I never liked the frosting on the german chocolate cakes before,due to too much coconut too sweet etc... but this I added to my own liking on the coconut and pecans.It also tasted sweet when I tried it(which made me skeptical)but when it was on the cake the cake isnt that sweet mixed with the frosting it was perfect just perfect I tell u.An A+++++++++++++++++if not better.Thank you thank you thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
440 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This came out wonderfully, very rich and sweet though, so don't feel the need to really glob it on your cake, just a thin layer is good enough! As far as those reviewers suggesting to add cornstarch, I've got to say 3/4 of the way through cooking I was tempted to throw it out and start again with cornstarch as it was still really thin. But then I just decided that the problem was that on low heat it would take forever to caramalize the sugars enough to thicken the milk. So I just turned up the heat, started stirring like mad, and it did thicken beautifully. I would think that if you did this AND added cornstarch your resulting frosting would be the consistancy of rubber boots, so if you're too scared to turn up the heat, do the cornstarch, if you're no stranger to candy making, by all means leave the cornstarch out and crank the heat up after all the ingredients have gotten warm on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
367 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
How good is this recipe, it's easy to make and delicious. The reviewer that suggested adding cornstarch to the evaporated milk was right on target. I turned out beautifully. I also toasted the pecans and coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
248 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This frosting was fabulous!! I did not alter any of the ingredients listed. I agree with other reviewers, it does NOT need cornstarch. Based on other reviews, I added all ingredients, except the vanilla and nuts, into saucepan and cooked over 2-3 level heat for about 6-7 minutes, stirring occasionally (while it was warming, I toasted the coconut and pecans in the oven 5 min at 350). Once the butter was thoroughly melted and the mixture was smooth, I turned up the heat to between 6-7 and continued to cook for another 6-7 minutes until the mixture started to boil. After it started to boil, I continued to cook, stirring constantly, for another 6-7 minutes. At the end of the 6-7 minutes, the mixture should just be getting into the soft candy stage (higher than 200 deg). If you are unfamiliar with this, it will seem like the mixture is starting to pull away from the edges of the pan and the bubbles will start making a popping noise more than a rolling boil type sound. Once it reaches this stage, I cooked for about 2 more minutes then removed from heat. I added the vanilla and mixed to blend then added the toasted cooconut and pecans. I left the mixture in the sauce pan on the back of the stove as I made the cake. By the time the cake was cooled, the frosting was a perfect consistency and was the exact amount needed for a 13x9 cake. Turned out magnificient, looked great and tasted even better. Thanks Carol!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
This was very good! I also took other reviewers advice and added 1 Tbsp of cornstarch to the evaporated milk. When it was not thickening I brought it to a boil and immediately removed it from the heat and kept stirring it and that did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
This icing was wonderful! I made a chocolate bundt cake, and poured icing on top. It made a beautiful cake. I received great reviews from my guests! I did add 1 tablespoon of cornstarch to evaporated milk, and used real butter rather than margarine. I will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
Wow! I made this frosting with Dark Chocolate Cake II for my husband's birthday and it was fantastic! I did use 1 TBSP of cornstarch to help thicken and it came out perfect. I will be using this recipe again and again! UPDATE: I made this frosting again and used walnuts instead of pecans and I ran out of eggs so I used an egg beater in place of one of the egg yolks. It still turned out excellent! This frosting has instantly become a favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
This German Chocolate Cake Frosting II is the best I've ever tasted and my guests feel the same way. Toasting the coconut and pecan chips first gives it the taste that stands out. Thanks for a great recipe. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Delicious! I used two whole eggs (just tempered them with the hot milk and sugar), toasted the nuts and added just a pinch of salt. This thickened up beautifully but it was my first time so it might have been luck. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
Even though I didn't have all the ingredients,and had to wing it, this recipe is a great basic icing!! I'm only 20 and just starting to really get into cooking, but this was super easy!! It's also a very forgiving recipe, I was halfway through making the icing and realized I had forgotten the butter. I added it midway through and it turned out great anyway. The cake was extremely moist, oozy even. A+++++++++++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States