German Chocolate Cake Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This icing was good....but, it was not as sweet as I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGAN33AJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boonville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
1. Make chocolate cupcakes 2. Frost with Nutella. 3. Pile on German Chocolate Cake Frosting. The hazelnut flavor in the Nutella works great with the pecans in this frosting! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This has a wonderful taste! I had to increase (medium low the temperature of my stove and cook for quite some time to get it thick. I slathered it on brownies after it cooled for a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
This recipe really doesn't make enough frosting for a sheet cake, but it is authentic and very good. You have to cook this about 30 minutes to get it properly thickened - it should be at a full rolling boil while stirring for about five minutes and it will thicken up just fine. The whole idea is for the frosting to be candy-like, and it does reduce to about half the amount you start with. I don't recommend using cornstarch as this is not going to produce a properly cooked, authentic German frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I made this for a birthday (by request) I have never liked German Chocolate Cake but this was a huge hit! Followed directions exactly, took slightly over 30 minutes to thicken, but the flavor and texture is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
First time making this instead of buying it in the store - superb! i added the cornstarch just because i tend to listen to reviewers. I also used a whole 7 oz bag of coconut too and probably more than a cup of pecans. Yummy in my tummy! I'll try not to use all of this on the cake so I can eat it out of the fridge :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariusvamp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Photo by Janie Purdin
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Loved it, it did take 35 minutes of me constantly stirring on medium heat for it to thicken up perfectly but it was well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie Purdin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Fantastic Recipe! I have used it several times, and it's a hit every single time. I normally don't add the coconut into the actual icing, though, since some don't care for it. I just toast it and allow people to add it as they cut a piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This is delicious. I made it exactly the way the recipe says. It takes some time for it to thicken but it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States