German Chocolate Cake Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This recipe did not work for me. It was too runny and the eggs cooked up into chunks. I've had better luck in the past with a recipe in which the yolks are added midway during the cooking process. It was a better outcome. I will keep looking for the right recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I was so afraid for many years to make this frosting because people talked about how hard and time consuming it was. I decided to go for it and it was the "Bomb". I only used 3/4 cup of sugar and I doubled the receipe to cover the whole cake--sides included. It turned out great! I will definitely make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Absolutely amazing! I followed the recipe exactly and read a review by goblyn and with those two things I got the most delicious german cake frosting I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha216

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
My Father-in-Law always requests German Chocolate Cake for his birthday dinner. This is the first time I've made it for him and it got rave reviews from the entire family. I used another member's suggestions and used frozen flake coconut. It is pretty wet, so I tosted it in a dry pan while the rest of the ingredients were heating in the pan. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This frosting was awesome. It cooked up just fine for me. For those that think this is turning out runny, try cooking at higher heat while constantly stirring... this thickened for me in about 15, maybe 20 minutes. And also, you can add more coconut to thicken it. I had never tried to make this icing and it is just so much easier than I had thought it would be. Don't be intimidated, it really is simple and tastes GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
very enjoyable and just the right consistency. The cooking procedure didn't work so well, so I improvised and increased the heat (as other reviewers have suggested). It turned out just fine. I only had 2 eggs, so I used them whole. I also used real butter and 1 tbsp corn starch. We love coconut, so we increased it to 2 cups. Next time, I will reduce the sugar to compensate. The recipe yielded an ideal amount of frosting to frost a 2 layer 8 inch cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOTHEBOMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I did not care for this. the frosting would not thicken! eventually i got tired of waiting for it to thicken and I just poured it on the cake while it was still in the pan like the recipe says to do at the end. The liquid part just soaked through the cake and settled under it and all the coconut stayed on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This recipe is delicious!!! I didnt have enough pecans so I added some slivered almonds to it. Everyone raved about the frosting! I went ahead and added the cornstarch.It seemed like it would have taken forever to thicken up on its own.came out great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This icing was good....but, it was not as sweet as I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGAN33AJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boonville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
1. Make chocolate cupcakes 2. Frost with Nutella. 3. Pile on German Chocolate Cake Frosting. The hazelnut flavor in the Nutella works great with the pecans in this frosting! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States