German Chocolate Cake Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
When I first seen this recipe and the reviews, I knew I had to try it! And it was the BEST thing I've ever tasted. My icing came out perfect! It thicked up after about 35 mins of wisking, to thicken it up I did NOT add anything, I simply put it in the freezer after it cooled so it could get nice and firm. And yes, its so good you will eat it from the bowl! lol Thanks so much for the recipe. I LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeckiiBossilini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Roseville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Made this for my husband's birthday. It was a great success! Everyone at the party loved it. It was also the very first time I attempted to make home made frosting. The recipe is fantastically simple, hard to mess up. I will say, for anyone who's never made anything like this, it does take a bit for it to thicken up, and once it cools it gets thicker as well. I also used the recommendation to put in 1Tbs of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I made this for my dad this past weekend, putting it on a boxed cake mix. My dad RAVES about his late mother's german chocolate cake, so I didn't expect that this would measure up, but I wanted to give him something better than canned frosting. He LOVED this frosting and said it was as good as any he has ever eaten, including his mom's! It did take quite awhile to thicken, but if you have patience it will. I didn't change anything except used real butter instead of margarine. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I used the frosting from this recipe for my own version of German chocolate cake. [I used the Sock it To Me cake II, and added 12oz of Ghirardeli 60% cocoa chocolate chips) The frosting is simple and delicious. People came up and hugged me and thanked me for bringing the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
this is good not too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kaufman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I love German Chocolate cake, it is my favorite... This was the first recipe I ever tried and I am so glad I did, it is perfect! I followed the recipe exactly, I just toasted the coconut as suggested by others here and it was really good! The cake was gone within a few minutes of serving it ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This frosting came out great and I got many compliments. You have to make sure you continue stirring on low heat or you will find bits of cooked eggs in your frosting. I used the one bowl chocolate cake recipe also found on allrecipes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
great frosting, I did add a little more coconut to make it a little thicker.oh and I definately didn't use margarine! real butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Jensen
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I followed ithe recipe exactly as written and my frosting came out soupy. The consistency is very runny. I even added cornstarch to the mixture as some of the other reviewers mentioned however it made no difference. I would not recommend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lgraham1994

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This has become a favorite at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States