German Chocolate Cake Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I made this for my dad this past weekend, putting it on a boxed cake mix. My dad RAVES about his late mother's german chocolate cake, so I didn't expect that this would measure up, but I wanted to give him something better than canned frosting. He LOVED this frosting and said it was as good as any he has ever eaten, including his mom's! It did take quite awhile to thicken, but if you have patience it will. I didn't change anything except used real butter instead of margarine. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I used the frosting from this recipe for my own version of German chocolate cake. [I used the Sock it To Me cake II, and added 12oz of Ghirardeli 60% cocoa chocolate chips) The frosting is simple and delicious. People came up and hugged me and thanked me for bringing the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
this is good not too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kaufman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I love German Chocolate cake, it is my favorite... This was the first recipe I ever tried and I am so glad I did, it is perfect! I followed the recipe exactly, I just toasted the coconut as suggested by others here and it was really good! The cake was gone within a few minutes of serving it ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This frosting came out great and I got many compliments. You have to make sure you continue stirring on low heat or you will find bits of cooked eggs in your frosting. I used the one bowl chocolate cake recipe also found on allrecipes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
great frosting, I did add a little more coconut to make it a little thicker.oh and I definately didn't use margarine! real butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Jensen
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I followed ithe recipe exactly as written and my frosting came out soupy. The consistency is very runny. I even added cornstarch to the mixture as some of the other reviewers mentioned however it made no difference. I would not recommend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lgraham1994

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This has become a favorite at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I used a can of coconut milk instead of the evaporated milk, and substituted 1 1/2 cups of powdered sugar along with a 1/4 sugar, and omitted the margarine. I had to reduce and watch constantly for a half hour, but it was worth it, especially if you love coconut and want to use a healthier fat. This turned out great!!!! (I couldn't stop eating it from the bowl, lol)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Awesome. Didn't add cornstarch-just stirred mixture continuously for about 10 minutes on medium until thickened. Received great reviews!!! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States