German Chocolate Cake Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
I made this as directed without cornstarch and had no issues thickening it, I just turned up the heat and stirred. I did toast the coconut and pecans. I plan on making this again but will only toast the coconut as the pecan flavor was too pronounced and made the frosting taste more like pecan pie. Delicious yes, but I want more coconut flavor. I used a box cake mix and the frosting elevated it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
This turned out perfect! I toasted the coconut and pecans for a little extra decadence. Cook it on low for a little while and then turn up the heat to medium and stir like crazy while it it bubbles away. That's how you thicken it up. It takes a few minutes and a little arm power but it's well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Graham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
The only thing I changed on this recipe was to use butter in place of margarine as I didn't have margarine. It turned out perfect. The secret to making this icing is patience. It took 30 minutes to cook not 15 as recipe says but was well worth it. Remember it will thicken some as it cools. I let it cool slightly before putting it on the cake. I definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This turned out perfect without any additional ingredients (i.e. cornstarch). You have to simmer, stirring constantly, until everything is combined and smooth. At that point (roughly 5 minutes), turn the heat up until you get a hard boil. You will want to make sure you are stirring because the egg could still scramble. I advise boiling until you see the mixture change texture - it's hard to explain but once you see it, you'll know. Very similiar to candy making which is essentially what you are doing here (I won't bore you with all the science-y stuff), but trust me, if you boil it hard you will not need the cornstarch. Mine changed after about 9 minutes of constant boiling but it all depends on temperatures. I'd also advise unsweetened coconut be used as it can be a touch too saccharine with the sweetened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Easy and great. I took the advice of another reviewer and turned the heat up instead of using corn starch- it worked great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Although I'm an experienced baker, this was my first attempt at a German chocolate cake frosting. It took me two attempts to be successful with this recipe. The end result was I replaced the white sugar with brown and added 2tsp cornstarch. also, my research regarding this type of frosting concluded with the realization that every recipe is the same; from the ingredients to the runny result. Definitely a recipe worth trying and using!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Silver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Excellent! First time trying homemade German Chocolate Cake and this frosting was on point! My husband loves GCC and this frosting was so good! HE said it reminded him of his grandma's German Choc Cake! I'm definitely keeping this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Failed to thicken even with addition of 1 tsp of cornstarch after 40 minutes of stirring. Only variation from recipe was butter instead of marjarine. Never got beyond consistency of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Great recipe... Made it as is and I didn't need to change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hancock, New York, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
As another reviewer said, go ahead and crank up the heat, being sure to stir often to avoid scorching. Then, be sure to cook as long as it takes to thicken. Well worth it!! Yummy - and this isn't usually my cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tecumseh, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States