General Tao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly as written and it was very good. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
A very good dish however it didn't taste like general toa chicken. I added less ketchup and enjoyed. Even added it to my cookbook wich i don't very often with my recipes but just not what i thought it is was going
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I liked this dish I followed the recipes but omit the green onions and added hot oil chili (sate). made it more spicy. I would definitely make this dish again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Terence Willson
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
i give it a 5 stars because it was delicious but i didn't follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terence Willson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Pontiac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
delicious, my husband says this is better than take-out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustSarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Maine, USA
Living In: Sumner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
My famly loves this and my fussy boys do not complain when I make this. I find it very authentic. I do add one green pepper to the sauce before adding the chicken and also some green onion slivers on top before serving. It makes it look like restaurant style. I was leery about the oyster sauce initially but it makes it so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This was phenomenal! The only reason I didn't rate it 5 starts is b/c I made a few minor changes. As per other user's recommendations I cut back on the ketchup and vinegar. I also added garlic and sherry to the mix. I used Sriracha because my husband loves heat. The changes were made simply based on personal preference. Also, I didn't have any problems keeping the chicken "crispy". Unlike other recipes, it didn't go all goopy when I added the chicken to the sauce. However I made sure the chicken bits were a nice golden brown all over before I pulled them out. I also cooked everything in an enameled cast-iron dutch oven which might have something to do with the texture holding up as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Super yummy tasting dish. One of my faves from Chinese restaurant which we have to avoid due to son having a peanut allergy. This tasted very similar. I will probably spice it up with red pepper flakes next time and definitely leave the sauce on the side for the kids. I did not have sesame oil or oyster sauce, but it was still very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I would but the onions in last so that the green onions don't get mushy. This has a sweet to the taste flavor and is good to eat if you have a sensitive stomach. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PBNJ10

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States