General Tao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I altered the reipce by adding during the ktchup phase and sesame seeds in the end. I saw it done at Hibachi so I tried it and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pap4866

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Griswold, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
My family enjoyed this alot! Just added a few pepper flakes to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTIMOM2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
awsome taste like the real thing except store bought the sause and added a little sugar to taste!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
2 stars for ease/speed and four stars for taste. This recipe wasn't hard to create, but the breading and cooking of the chicken is time consuming. The flavor was quite good, but a bit salty for my tastes. Next time I'll try deep frying the chicken pieces and use a light soy sauce for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSelvidio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Eh, it was alright. Had a little bit of a funny flavor/after taste and I didn't like the flavor the sesame oil added. I would STRONGLY recommend making the sauce separate if you are making it the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Great starting point. I cut the sugar down and it was still a bit too sweet (almost like sweet and sour chicken), I think from the oyster sauce since sugar was one of the first ingredients. Good taste but I will add more heat and maybe just a pinch of sugar next time. I had never been able to get the restaurant style crust though until this recipe - it def came out looking pretty good. My husband was really impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This recipe was excellent! My boyfriend raved about it to all his friends. The only change I made was to add garlic when I cooked the green onions and ginger. Will definitely keep this in the rotation. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I tried this recipe last night, we followed the recipe just as it said with the exception of cutting the ginger back to one tablespoon and adding chili sauce (my fiance and I like heat). We added brocolli and pour it all over white rice to make it a full meal. The recipe tasted good, but nothing like the take out we get from all of the places around here. It had more of a peanut taste to it than anything. I give it three stars because it tasted nothing like the General Tao chicken, but was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: North Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
The battered chicken part was perfect, but we didn't love the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by baumanns
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was just "okay". For being home cooked definitely not bad... but a Chinese restaurant's version is definitely much better! It had a weird twang which might of been from the ketchup. Also deep frying the chicken in the restaurants in MY opinion is a big part of the recipe. The sauce is more of what I had a problem with though... it just tasted... weird. Not horrible though! My husband ate everything on his plate... but he will also eat almost anything :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baumanns

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States