General Tao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Close but not it at all. The ketchup gave it a weird taste. I liked the batter for the chicken. It came out real good, but I will look for another sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Does not taste like what I get from restaurants. Tastes good but not like General Tao Chicken. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I made this last night for my husband I added some ground red pepper for heat in the sauce very close to resturant quality
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roberta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Poplar Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Very bready. I don't know which restaurant this recipe is supposed to resemble, but I wouldn't want to eat there. And what do you get when you put ketchup in a General Tao chicken recipe? A recipe that tastes like it has ketchup in it. Should you like to find a recipe that's much closer to what a good General Tao should be, look for one that uses corn or potato flour and less egg. The recipe should also use tomato paste and molasses. Definitely not ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Made this last night, made some changes and it was excellent. 1. Changed the Ketchup, Ketchup should not be in Chinese food;) I replaced it with a combination of sweet Thai chili sauce and chili sauce 2. Lowered vinegar a bit The chicken is perfect however I used a deep frier (what?? I bought one and never use it! I have to justify the expense to my wife any chance I get). I still think the sauce could use some tweaking it wasnt tangy enough, it was definitely hot enough. Overall, I will definitely make again, this is an excellent recipe for a base to expand on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I could not believe I made this!! It tasted so good. I served it with white rice. The only thing I did a little different was I put in seafood stock, I found at kroger, I could not find the sauce. Took the left overs to work the next day tasted just as good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
It might not be exactly like general tso chicken, but it is deliscious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chad Exmeyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This recipe really is awesome! I did tweak it as RDean suggested. Everyone loved it! Incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
My family loved it. However, I did have to double the sauce part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bex Slaughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
What a surprise when I started to read your recipe... It remembered me of a recipe I saw on a grocery store website: IGA. I did the research and found out you almost did no change to that recipe: you doubled almost every ingredients (except for the vinegar, and you added sugar) I did the IGA recipe for numerous time and as other said, I also had difficulties with the chicken batter that wasn't crispy enough, and effectively, the sauce has and odd after taste... I was looking for another recipe than this one...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quebec, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States