General Tao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Recently made this for my 2 teens and husband. Everyone loved it-which is rare! Not sure why there are any negative comments on this one. I followed the recipe exactly as shown, just added some roasted broccoli into the chicken and sauce at the end, and served over jasmine rice. Can't wait to make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Followed the recipe pretty much as is, though I reduced the vegetable oil by about 25% and sugar by about 50% to try to make it a bit healthier. Tasted very good, although it probably won't become one of my go-to recipes because of the number of steps involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
It was it is fabulous! I added some hot peppers because I prefer mine spicy, however, I'm never ordering chinese takeout again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This tasted great! Definitely took way longer than 50min... but perhaps that's because I'm new to the recipe. Made a few changes based on recommendations. -Added a can of water chestnuts. -Steamed frozen broccoli and added it afterwards. -Used 1 tablespoon and a half of fresh ginger -Used just over 3 tablespoons of vinegar -Used 2 heaping tablespoons of ketchup. -Added 3 teaspoons of fresh garlic Tasted great with Basmati Rice. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Clifford_Dean
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
EXCELLENT DELICIOUS and AMAZING! We chose to bake the chicken with the sriracha, soy and fresh garlic marinade (as RDean suggested) ... added a few fresh vegetables and followed the rest of the recipe!! Way better than my fav Chinese restaraunt down the street!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Amazing! Did not change a thing, it was quick and easy and now a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This meal is so full of flavor! I make this for my husband and I and it makes for great left overs for lunch the next day as well. We keep this on the regular menu! The oyster sauce is a must so don't leave that out! We use a little Sriracha sauce (rooster sauce) cause we like things to be spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This was OK (mu hubby liked it) but it is NOT like the General Tao's that we get at our favorite Asian restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Close but not it at all. The ketchup gave it a weird taste. I liked the batter for the chicken. It came out real good, but I will look for another sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States