General Tao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I made this recipe for friends and it was a huge hit. They said it was the best they've ever had, even from a chinese restaurant! I did have to substitute a few things and add here and there. I added 2 Tbsp. of Oyster sauce that I had on hand, I used a red wine instead of the sherry because that's what I had on hand and I also used 1/3 c. more corn starch to thicken the sauce. I dissolved the corn starch in just enough water to make it not lumpy for the batter. And lastly, I added only 1 1/2 cups of sugar because I doubled the sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Good but I probably won't make it again. It was a lot of work and not really worth it. The sauce was way too sweet. If I did make it again I would cut down the sugar, vinegar and sesame oil. The flavors were altogether too strong and it didn't taste like any general tao chicken that I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This is excellent! We love General Tso's and this is as close to some of the best we have had from a Chinese take-out. My husband loved it so much we made an ever bigger chinese feast the next night using the leftovers as one of our side dishes. I followed the recipe to a 'T' except for the green onions, which I didnt have, but will definitely add next time. Great recipe-I'm very glad to have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe. It was very good. Wasn't spicy in the least bit so I would probably add some crushed red pepper or something to heat it up next time but overall it was a very tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This is a great recipe!! I modified it by using turkey tenderloins and gluten free all purpose flour. And I had reduce the heat of my oil down to 4 on my stove dial, (maybe because it was Canola oil) and cooked the turkey until golden brown-it came out very tender. I also added cold water to just make a paste of my powdered ginger. Otherwise it all turned out great and I would make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
this was great! a little too much katchup though. next time i will use less katchup and a dash of cayenne pepper ..i didn't have green onions so i used about 1/8 c white onion and i used ginger powder since my local store was out of fresh ginger. i will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This was amazing! Tasted just like take out! It took a lot of work to make though. I think next time I'll just use a boxed breading instead of messing with the cornstarch and flour. The sauce is what makes this tho! I added a pinch more sugar and topped with sesame seeds, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maumee, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This took a long time to make and it is not even close to General Tao chicken. The sauce is sour and the taste of ketchup is too strong. Will not make again. However, the breaded chicken taste pretty good by itself. I will never again make the sauce but I will definitely make the breaded chicken again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Wow, excellent recipe. Better than take out! I followed the recipe and made no changes with the exception of having about 2 1/2 pounds of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colby, Kansas, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Very good recipe, way better than my last attempt. Will make this again!!!! I did add some asian hot sauce and broccoli, if I had time I would have added some sauteed carrots also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States