General Tao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This came out wonderfully! I followed everything as listed except left out the green onions and oyster sauce, because I didn't have any in the house. My husband and I both loved it. I will definitely add some crushed red pepper in the future to spice it up a bit, but that's just personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Re: the batter...I ended up with a crispy shell that encased a thin layer of scrambled egg. I followed the directions to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Oh My Gosh! I love this recipe. I followed RDean's ideas and changed things like him/her. I added 1/2 bag of frozen broccoli and 1can of sliced waterchestnuts. RDean said to use 2tbs of crushed red peppers. I used just one tbs and I think I will cut it back to 1/2. If you can't find RDean, here are the changes that he/she made. 1 tbs ground ginger.(I used 2Tbs) 3 tbs of distilled white vinegar. 1/4 cup of soy sauce. 2tbs of Ketchup. Added 2 cloves garlic. I am going to make some changes the next time I make it. I'm going to try it without any of the breading. I hope that will make it more saucy and not so thick. I didn't mind how thick it was, just prefer more sauce and less breading. I feel the fresh ginger and the oyster sauce are the key to this recipe! My family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
The sauce is great with a few adjustments. I add a teaspoon of minced garlic and a dozen dried chilies with the tips cut off. I also pass on the ketchup. I don't use his recipe for the chicken. I don't have any deep skillets that can accommodate all the chicken at one time, plus I'm not too big on cooking with oil because it sets my smoke alarm off. Instead I make bite size pieces of "Famous Butter Chicken" (http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Famous-Butter-Chicken/Detail.aspx). Besides being easier, I prefer the taste and texture of it too. This is a great sauce recipe, that can easily be adjusted to one's personal taste or idea of what General Tao's chicken should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nolan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lexington, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
It was my first Asian dish cooked (besides stir-fry). It was good, but needed a good bit of rice to tone down the sweetness. It was almost sickly sweet, but the overall flavors are wonderful. Will try again. I followed the recipe exactly but will find a way to cut back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkysarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This recipe is wonderful! My entire family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Not crazy about the oyster sauce. Not what I thought it would taste like. Sorry!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Awesome! Tastes just like the restaurant. I took the advice of another reviewer and cut back on the ketchup and vinegar and added more soy sauce. I also added 1 Tbsp of crushed red pepper, because we prefer spicy dishes. I served it with "Restaurant Style Fried Rice", also from this site. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginniej

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Somers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Really liked this. I read some reviews and followed them. Cut back on sugar and ketchup added garlic. Tossed in some sugar snap peas and carrots. It was really good. Some people thought it was a lot of work; it's just the frying of the chicken pieces. Just do it in batches while you work on the rest of the recipe. Not hard at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I really enjoyed this dish! Will make again, but I will try using skinless, boneless chicken thighs the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States