General Tao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This recipe was excellent! My boyfriend raved about it to all his friends. The only change I made was to add garlic when I cooked the green onions and ginger. Will definitely keep this in the rotation. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I tried this recipe last night, we followed the recipe just as it said with the exception of cutting the ginger back to one tablespoon and adding chili sauce (my fiance and I like heat). We added brocolli and pour it all over white rice to make it a full meal. The recipe tasted good, but nothing like the take out we get from all of the places around here. It had more of a peanut taste to it than anything. I give it three stars because it tasted nothing like the General Tao chicken, but was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: North Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
The battered chicken part was perfect, but we didn't love the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by baumanns
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was just "okay". For being home cooked definitely not bad... but a Chinese restaurant's version is definitely much better! It had a weird twang which might of been from the ketchup. Also deep frying the chicken in the restaurants in MY opinion is a big part of the recipe. The sauce is more of what I had a problem with though... it just tasted... weird. Not horrible though! My husband ate everything on his plate... but he will also eat almost anything :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baumanns

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Made it exactly as it says and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was pretty good. I thought the sauce was a tad too sweet. Also, I tried the oven baked method and the chicken was good but I think next time I'll fry them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CornflakeGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This turned out great! Loved the flavor and was easy to make. I added julienned carrots (added them at the same time i added the water and vinegar) and spinach. Just make sure you add the chicken right before serving so it stay a little crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
We just finished eating the General Tso's Chicken for dinner. I followed the recipe, almost as written, and it was super. I added a little chopped garlic, and some Chinese Chili Sauce for added heat. I tossed in some blanched broccoli at the end and served it over white rice. So, so, good! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I love this recipe. It has become a family and Army Brigade favorite. I have messed around a little with how much of an ingredient I put in but the ingredients haven't changed. For a lower carb. recipe skip steps 2 & part of 3 just brown the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This was better than the restaurant version! Very tasty and the ginger was not over powering. Being of Cajun descent, I had to kick up the heat some more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States