General Tao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
My famly loves this and my fussy boys do not complain when I make this. I find it very authentic. I do add one green pepper to the sauce before adding the chicken and also some green onion slivers on top before serving. It makes it look like restaurant style. I was leery about the oyster sauce initially but it makes it so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This was phenomenal! The only reason I didn't rate it 5 starts is b/c I made a few minor changes. As per other user's recommendations I cut back on the ketchup and vinegar. I also added garlic and sherry to the mix. I used Sriracha because my husband loves heat. The changes were made simply based on personal preference. Also, I didn't have any problems keeping the chicken "crispy". Unlike other recipes, it didn't go all goopy when I added the chicken to the sauce. However I made sure the chicken bits were a nice golden brown all over before I pulled them out. I also cooked everything in an enameled cast-iron dutch oven which might have something to do with the texture holding up as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Super yummy tasting dish. One of my faves from Chinese restaurant which we have to avoid due to son having a peanut allergy. This tasted very similar. I will probably spice it up with red pepper flakes next time and definitely leave the sauce on the side for the kids. I did not have sesame oil or oyster sauce, but it was still very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I would but the onions in last so that the green onions don't get mushy. This has a sweet to the taste flavor and is good to eat if you have a sensitive stomach. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PBNJ10

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Made exactly as written but doubled the sauce recipe since I had close to almost 3 pounds of chicken. I was able to get a knob of fresh ginger at my local supermarket for 10 cents and used all I bought. Tastes exactly like the local Chinese would make. I wouldnt change a thing. My wok had hard time handling all the chicken, so maybe next time I would do it in batches to make it crispier. The batter was very very thick, too thick to dump 3 pounds of chicken in, so I added a little water to make it a little thinner like waffle batter. Made it over white rice with fresh string beans. Had plenty left over for a second meal and tastes even better the next day. Excellent recipe, this will go into the regular rotation. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silver Ghost

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Linden, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
This is really good! In fact, cooking the chicken in the cornstarch/flour/egg/baking powder mixture is the closest thing I have tried yet to restaurant style Chinese food. The reason I gave it four stars is that there is no heat in the recipe. I think next time I will add some red pepper flakes to see if that helps. It wasn't bland - in fact the ginger and onion flavor it nicely - but it is not spicy the way that General Tsao chicken usually is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SundayGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This came out wonderfully! I followed everything as listed except left out the green onions and oyster sauce, because I didn't have any in the house. My husband and I both loved it. I will definitely add some crushed red pepper in the future to spice it up a bit, but that's just personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Re: the batter...I ended up with a crispy shell that encased a thin layer of scrambled egg. I followed the directions to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Oh My Gosh! I love this recipe. I followed RDean's ideas and changed things like him/her. I added 1/2 bag of frozen broccoli and 1can of sliced waterchestnuts. RDean said to use 2tbs of crushed red peppers. I used just one tbs and I think I will cut it back to 1/2. If you can't find RDean, here are the changes that he/she made. 1 tbs ground ginger.(I used 2Tbs) 3 tbs of distilled white vinegar. 1/4 cup of soy sauce. 2tbs of Ketchup. Added 2 cloves garlic. I am going to make some changes the next time I make it. I'm going to try it without any of the breading. I hope that will make it more saucy and not so thick. I didn't mind how thick it was, just prefer more sauce and less breading. I feel the fresh ginger and the oyster sauce are the key to this recipe! My family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States