General Tao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This was delicious!!! I put the sauce in a side dish because I knew my little kids wouldn't try it with the sauce. But the pieces of chicken on their own were super yummy as well and the kids couldn't have enough of them. Will make again and again... Oh yeah, there were a few items I didn't have like the green onion which I used yellow, the peanut oil and oyster sauce. I imagine it would make the sauce even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Incredible!! Followed the recipe and wouldn't change a thing. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Really good. I didn't have oyster sauce and substituted purple onion for the green. Also added freshly chopped garlic. Would recommend adding the chicken only when the oil is very hot to obtain maximum crispiness. Next time would try adding whole chili peppers and fresh stir-fried vegetables (broccoli, peppers, onion) for an added bit of healthiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Very easy to make and ingredients very easy to get. Tastes just like I remember it from Chinese restaurants back home in Montreal. Excellent flavour and just the right balance of sweetness and spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
this was great! the whole family loved it! i followed the directions to the T. the only thing i did diffrent was i added about 1/3 more water for extra sauce thanks! this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Long Branch, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This was awesome. My bf said it was the best Chinese food I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wigan, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I was hoping it would taste like the General Tao Chicken that I would get at a little Chinese take out restaurant, but it came pretty close. This recipe tasted a bit sweeter than the one I'm use to. Other than that, it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
So easy to make. Like mine a little spicier. Next time I will add thai peppers. Great Recipe. Looked great served up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I have to say this was amazing! I never cooked chicken like that and I loved it. The sauce was delicious! I added mushrooms because I love them. This recipie is nice because you can be creative with veggies on what to add. Oyster sauce is a must in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Excellent!! This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States