General Tao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
It was it is fabulous! I added some hot peppers because I prefer mine spicy, however, I'm never ordering chinese takeout again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This tasted great! Definitely took way longer than 50min... but perhaps that's because I'm new to the recipe. Made a few changes based on recommendations. -Added a can of water chestnuts. -Steamed frozen broccoli and added it afterwards. -Used 1 tablespoon and a half of fresh ginger -Used just over 3 tablespoons of vinegar -Used 2 heaping tablespoons of ketchup. -Added 3 teaspoons of fresh garlic Tasted great with Basmati Rice. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Clifford_Dean
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
EXCELLENT DELICIOUS and AMAZING! We chose to bake the chicken with the sriracha, soy and fresh garlic marinade (as RDean suggested) ... added a few fresh vegetables and followed the rest of the recipe!! Way better than my fav Chinese restaraunt down the street!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Amazing! Did not change a thing, it was quick and easy and now a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This meal is so full of flavor! I make this for my husband and I and it makes for great left overs for lunch the next day as well. We keep this on the regular menu! The oyster sauce is a must so don't leave that out! We use a little Sriracha sauce (rooster sauce) cause we like things to be spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This was OK (mu hubby liked it) but it is NOT like the General Tao's that we get at our favorite Asian restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Close but not it at all. The ketchup gave it a weird taste. I liked the batter for the chicken. It came out real good, but I will look for another sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Does not taste like what I get from restaurants. Tastes good but not like General Tao Chicken. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I made this last night for my husband I added some ground red pepper for heat in the sauce very close to resturant quality
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roberta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Poplar Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States