General Tao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This is amazing and my husband loves it! I live in Thailand so when I saw the ingredients and how easy they'd be to get, it was a must try! Read a few other reviews and followed some tips, like adding garlic, less ketchup, a Tbs. of crushed red pepper (because we like hotter food) and a little less vinegar. Plus I cut back on the veg. oil and sugar, because you can afford to. But such an amazing dish, note (learned this living in Thailand), when they say, "HOT" it's hot, our Maid has burnt up several of our spatulas because they get their oil hot when cooking (reason I bring this up is because some people complained about the "breading," which I think if you don't cook it hot enough, fast enough, might lead to a less appealing "battered chicken.") But it is a very good dish and not too hard once you've done it, will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Very good. I used rice vinegar because it is not as harsh I find. Even though I cut back on the vinegar and ketchup, next time I would cut back to only a tablespoon of vinegar and a lot less soy sauce as well. My husband is Singapore Chinese and he always says the recipes call for way too much soy sauce. But this was very close to restaurant style. You need to fry it twice in a deep fryer to get it to come out like the restaurants. This is healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe! I did make it the way RDean suggested. My mother and I love General Tso's chicken for a long time and don't eat it too often. Last night we made this together and even my husband enjoyed it. My kids liked the chicken without the sauce. I would definitely make this again, but make sure you have time because it did take me a long time to prepare, even with help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I made no modifications and I really liked this recipe. I can't say for certain whether it really has that "General Tso's" taste since it's not a dish that I typically order; but this tastes really good. I will admit that I eyeball most everything (vs. make exact measurements), but I don't think that will make much of a difference here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Tried this recipe exactly like it read. The first bite was so so, but the more I ate, the more I liked it. My hubby gave it a 10. I served with rice. Didn't taste exactly like our Chinese Restaurant made, but was really good.. Chicken was really tender. I will definitely make it again. I made the recipe without the sauce.. Just after frying the chicken. My husband who is really picky. Doesn't like too many chicken recipes said He really liked this. So it is two recipes in one,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canyon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Recently made this for my 2 teens and husband. Everyone loved it-which is rare! Not sure why there are any negative comments on this one. I followed the recipe exactly as shown, just added some roasted broccoli into the chicken and sauce at the end, and served over jasmine rice. Can't wait to make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Followed the recipe pretty much as is, though I reduced the vegetable oil by about 25% and sugar by about 50% to try to make it a bit healthier. Tasted very good, although it probably won't become one of my go-to recipes because of the number of steps involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
It was it is fabulous! I added some hot peppers because I prefer mine spicy, however, I'm never ordering chinese takeout again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This tasted great! Definitely took way longer than 50min... but perhaps that's because I'm new to the recipe. Made a few changes based on recommendations. -Added a can of water chestnuts. -Steamed frozen broccoli and added it afterwards. -Used 1 tablespoon and a half of fresh ginger -Used just over 3 tablespoons of vinegar -Used 2 heaping tablespoons of ketchup. -Added 3 teaspoons of fresh garlic Tasted great with Basmati Rice. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States