General Tao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
The taste of the chicken is fine but I was really confused by this recipe, it is just like frying a chicken breast and putting sauce over it. Don't care for this one, will be trying another one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Takes longer than you think, especially if you don't make it often. But a terrific taste, I add a bit of sriracha to take the ketchup-taste edge off it. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phil D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Added a good amount of garlic and substituted green onion with the regular purple ones..and didn't have ginger root so left that out. And substituted with pork instead, and oven baked covered ~20 min before sauteing in most of the sauce - still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
So good and does taste close to the General Tso we get at the restaurant. I used chicken thighs and doubled the sauce but used brown sugar instead of white everything else as recipe called for. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
this turned out just perfect. I had to use ground ginger, but I was very happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I love it!! It may be a little too sweet for some people. We might use a little less sugar and add some red pepper flakes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Troy Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I have been tried lot of receipes this is the best make sure put all ingredient only thing missing I love spicy so I put red pepper powder ^^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Not any kind of good imitation of any General Tso (not Tao) Chicken I have ever had. I took the recommendation of a poster and baked, not fried, the chicken. And got anemic looking chicken. The coating is just wrong. General Tso needs cornmeal and Panko, or it's just wrong. It wasn't a mild version; it was basically bland. So this combination of anemic, lack of crunchy outside (and tender inside), with bland, not even mentioning the lack of vegetables in this recipe, makes it a poor imitation of the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by flaaavadaaave
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
It was alright. Intense flavour, but wasn't a big fan of the flavour. I used about half the sugar because half a cup seems like way too much considering ketchup is basically just sugar as well. Also it tasted a bit too much like the oyster sauce I think. It wasn't very crispy either but I expected that. We thought to bake it a bit at the end to try to make it crispier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This turned out delicious! I forgot the flour and the baking soda...it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States