General Tao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by flaaavadaaave
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
It was alright. Intense flavour, but wasn't a big fan of the flavour. I used about half the sugar because half a cup seems like way too much considering ketchup is basically just sugar as well. Also it tasted a bit too much like the oyster sauce I think. It wasn't very crispy either but I expected that. We thought to bake it a bit at the end to try to make it crispier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This turned out delicious! I forgot the flour and the baking soda...it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Excellent recipe! I followed it as best as I could with what I had in the house and had a wonderful surprise for my husband who loves General Tao chicken. It's a long process so it will have to be saved for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I've made this serveral times and it's fantastic. Regardless if you make the chicken breaded or not, it's still fantastic. I serve it over a white rice, quinoa blend and it's to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacySnook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Very good. I didn't have corn starch so used corn flour and it still turned out well. Didn't have oyster sauce so didn't use it, and decreased vinegar to one tablespoon, ketchup to one tablespoon, and grated ginger to half a tablespoon. Increased soy sauce to half a cup. Didn't have sesame oil so used chili oil. I imagine the original recipe is probably better, but this was delicious even with all the omissions! BTW - it was great not to have to deep fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Best General Chicken I've had! I didn't have an orange to zest, so I used a splash or Orange Juice. Also, I could not find the chili peppers, so I used Chinese Hot Sauce. I ate it so fast I didn't take a picture. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This was delicious! My husband loved it. I also brought it to a potluck and it was gone in seconds. I can't wait to make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
My boys absolutely love this recipe!! I let my neighbor's try some the first time I made it, (they don't cook much) and ever since then I make extra to bring over to them, they liked it so much!! YUMMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This was the best recipe!!! My whole family loved it. Wouldn't change a thing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States