General Tao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I cut down on the sugar a bit just because i'm not crazy about really sweet sauces. Besides that i stuck to the recipe. I thought it tasted better before i added the ketchup, so next time I'll leave it out or cut it down. Besides that, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
i made this last night it turned out great..would't change a thing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Great as is, although I will probably decrease sugar to 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
OMG!!! This recipe was great!!! My family has Sunday Dinners every week and I tried this one for my week.... It was a hit!! I'm not that much of a cook so I followed the recipe to a T.... Just Great!! Thanks alot....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAKESHA25

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Very good, BUT nothing like any General Tao I have had at a restaurant. The flavors were good, chicken tender and juicy, however this recipe could not be mistaken for a chinese restaurant. I will definitly make this again, maybe cut back on the sesame oil used as it was a bit strong (we eat asian meals all the time and are used to the flavors but it still seemed strong). I did do one thing different, I sauteed some broccoli with minced Garlic to serve along with this meal. I would definitly reccomend this recipe to someone, just not claim it was like a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
this was a fabulous recipe. I especially liked the how easy it was to cook the chicken. I did add broccoli and red pepper. I will absolutely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FoodByLauren
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
my boyfriend said that if I had told him I got this from our favorite Chinese takeout place, he would have believed me. Enough said!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodByLauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
It was pretty tasty, I added some crushed red pepper just because I like it a little more spicy. I am looking for THE General Tao's chicken recipe and unfortunately this one fell a little short.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stripey kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This is an excellent recipe, particularly as a base for adding either vegetables (water chestnuts, red or green pepper, broccoli) or honeyed walnuts. Will definitely make again! edited addition - used about 1/4 C. sugar next time and had more of a sweet-and-sour taste that I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This did make my kitchen smell like an authentic chinese restaurant - and was loved by everyone in my family (I didn't change a thing). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States