General Tao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Wow, excellent recipe. Better than take out! I followed the recipe and made no changes with the exception of having about 2 1/2 pounds of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colby, Kansas, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Very good recipe, way better than my last attempt. Will make this again!!!! I did add some asian hot sauce and broccoli, if I had time I would have added some sauteed carrots also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Very close to what we order at our Chinese restaurant but better. I followed the recipe for the most part except I made two changes as suggested by other reviewers. I added two tablespoons of ketchup and added about two tablespoons of pepper sauce because the General Tao chicken we get has a kick. My husband loved it. The only thing I am going to do next time is double the sauce. I also mixed in some jasmine rice into the chicken while it was cooling in the pan. It makes twice as much as you get for two orders of take out for half the price and no long waits for lukewarm food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Very yummy! I only used 4 tbs of ketchup and added 1 tbs garlic chili sauce. Also added cayenne pepper. Next time I will double the egg, flour mixture as my last batch didn't have as much coating as the previous batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Wonderful! This is the BEST recipe from this site thus far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali Imel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Coarsegold, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Everyone in my family loved this recipe. I add some crushed red pepper to add some heat because we are used to General Tao Chicken being spicy. In the future, I will reduce the ketchup because it was a bit overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This recipe is good, it takes a lot of effort, but it is worth it. I followed the advice of others and cut down on the sugar and ketchup, in fact I probably only used 2 tablespoons of ketchup and that worked fine. I omitted the oyster sauce because I didn't have it, and everything still tasted good. It doesn't necessarily taste restaurant quality, but getting that in any homemade chinese food it hard. I think the only improvement that could be made is if there was some honey in the sauce, that would really taste good. I paired this with pork fried rice and it was a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
That was a very good recipe. I added a little more water. I have suggested this recipe to other people. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
AMAZING! My hubby thought I ordered it from a high end Chinese Restaurant. I also served it with broccoli and rice. Since we're not big ketchup fans - I did half chili pepper sauce and half Srircha Hot Sauce it was sooo good and it really kicked it up if you like spicy food! I made lettuce wraps as an appetizer too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This is our favorite chinese recipe yet!! They way the chicken is coated with cornstarch, egg, etc, was such a great concept. We'll even use this was of preparing the chicken to go with other sauce in the future. It had the same "feeling" of being fried but WAY healthier! Love it. Tasted very authentic. Don't bother to make it without the oyster sauce...it's what gives it that little "extra".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States