Garlic Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I did a 4lb rib roast same amounts of garlic and salt, 1 1/4 tsp of pepper, and 1 heaping tsp of thyme. Added 1 cup of beef broth to the bottom of my cast iron braiser after I lowered the temp to 325 for moisture. I followed the other recommendations with cooking temps and did: 12 min at 460 and 8 min at 425, then 65 min at 325 degrees. Inside temp. was 137 and came out beautifully! My husband's only critique was for me to use less thyme next time. We will definitely do this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Britty17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I have tried this recipe 2 times in the past year. Each time the roast turned out very well done, which is not the way to serve good prime rib. And if you wait for the internal temperature to reach 135, it keeps on cooking itself and gets way over done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
While a small strip of this was tender and well seasoned, the rest was tasteless and tough. I realize that prime rib is tricky to make well this recipe won't accomplish it. About the only thing that worked was that it was indeed medium well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I've made prime rib roasts for about 10 years and have finally found the perfect recipe- it is this one. Best prime rib ever!! And, I will even admit, that I cooked a roast that had been in the freezer for 3 months- (don't judge!) still it was amazingly perfect. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Love!!!! Make every time prime rib goes on sale. But I double or triple the seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I have made this several times and I would like to thank you for such an easy and wonderful and flavorful recipe. The taste is out of this world and the meat is so tender and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I have made this recipe almost a dozen times, typically around the holidays and it always turns out great. I use rosemary instead of thyme just as a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My3Boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ang
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
first ever prime rib i made, and this was so yummy! unfortunately my meat thermometer started at 140 degrees, so did little guess work, but end result was perfect... see uploaded photo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Pros - Easy to make. Excellent overall taste. Cons - None Notes: Use fresh thyme instead of dried thyme. I also found that doubling the amount of salt, pepper, and thyme make the recipe even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
turned out great. made some au jus on the side and adding it changed the flavor to a little better, but it was really good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States