Garlic Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by JULIAGULIA3
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Absolutely, hands down, the best prime rib I've had in my home or at a restaurant. I inserted about 15 fresh garlic slices in the meat, them added the marinade and let it sit in the fridge overnight. They'd the only alteration to the recipe as written. I served Sandra Lee's au jus as a side. My family were extremely complimentary about the meal which made my heart fill with happiness !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIAGULIA3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Another reviewer wondered why this got so many good reviews because it is so standard. It is standard, and that's a good thing if you want to have a delicious prime rib. I use this recipe every Christmas, and whether I use the whole amount of marinade, or any lesser amount, it's always good. It may be standard, but in my book, it's the standard for making delicious prime rib. By the way, it's also good with rosemary rather than thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wolfsmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
My 9 pound roast wasn't even close to being done following these instructions. The 'marinade' was just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
First time to make this and it received rave reviews from my family. Didn't have a meat thermometer for my 4# roast but followed other recommendations and cooked it at 450 for 20 minutes, then 250 for 2 1/2 hours. It turned out perfectly from medium to medium rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Made for Christmas dinner 2013. Cooked to a temp of 140. Came out perfect. Loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Wonderful recipe, I cooked a 7 pound prime rid and really pumped the garlic to it. The favor was wonderful. I look forward to this every year. Ben
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigben04064

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saco, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Excellent!! First time cooking Prime Rib and it turn out to be a complete success!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tatissitat

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Excellent instructions and thanks for sharing! Only tweeks I made are 1. Use 2 teaspoon of rosemary in oil rub, 2. Place roast on a bed of sliced carrots, celery, & onions to roast in the oven. This allows for the roast to be lifted from the pan, and the arromatics infuse a delightful flavor as well. 3. I remove the roast at 125°-130° to rest for 15-20 minutes which brings it to temperature for serving rare and medium rare. Again, great recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Incredible. My husband still talking about it a week later, insisting we have prime rib for x-mas, instead of our traditional turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jim Fields
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Made this for Christmas dinner and it was 10 stars plus. Not certain ever had a piece of meat turn out this good. A meat thermometer is a must. Might cut the searing temperature back as suggested by others (the kitchen was a smokey mess and the oven is really a mess)... but the results were phenominal. Thank You Chef Mike
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Fields

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States