Garlic Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I prepared this recipe today, December 26, 2013 (it was suppose to be Christmas Dinner, but we were still full from our family brunch) and it was amazingly good! Although my roast prime rib was only 5 lbs. I still prepared the marinade as written, but inserted slivers of garlic throughout the meat, wrapped it, and let it sit overnight in the frig. Prior to cooking I let the meat come to room temp and cooked it at 450 for 20min and then 325 for 3 hours - I don't care for rare meat so I cooked it longer than the recommended time. The Prime Rib was tender, flavorful, and moist! My daughter says it was almost as good as my sister's roast but I say it was 10xs better - lol! I served it with garlic mashed potatoes, glazed carrots, and rolls. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trecie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This was my first experience cooking a prime rib roast. I have an internal thermometer in my oven and learned in never gets above 430 degrees, so I preheated my oven and put in in for 30 mins rather than 20 before decreasing the temperature. I also left a digital thermometer in the roast so I would be sure not to over cook it. This was absolutely delicious, a huge hit and so easy to do!! I would recommend this recipe, especially to newbies and less experienced cooks like myself. This is how I will always cook my roast- it was so tender, moist and perfectly med-rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This is the way to do it! My 4 lb roast was spot on. 460 for 12, 425 for 8 and 325 for 60. It left a little juice for the gravy and perfect resting time for the Yorkshire Pudding. Who could ask for anything more? Hands down the best I've done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JULIAGULIA3
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Absolutely, hands down, the best prime rib I've had in my home or at a restaurant. I inserted about 15 fresh garlic slices in the meat, them added the marinade and let it sit in the fridge overnight. They'd the only alteration to the recipe as written. I served Sandra Lee's au jus as a side. My family were extremely complimentary about the meal which made my heart fill with happiness !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIAGULIA3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Another reviewer wondered why this got so many good reviews because it is so standard. It is standard, and that's a good thing if you want to have a delicious prime rib. I use this recipe every Christmas, and whether I use the whole amount of marinade, or any lesser amount, it's always good. It may be standard, but in my book, it's the standard for making delicious prime rib. By the way, it's also good with rosemary rather than thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
My 9 pound roast wasn't even close to being done following these instructions. The 'marinade' was just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
First time to make this and it received rave reviews from my family. Didn't have a meat thermometer for my 4# roast but followed other recommendations and cooked it at 450 for 20 minutes, then 250 for 2 1/2 hours. It turned out perfectly from medium to medium rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Made for Christmas dinner 2013. Cooked to a temp of 140. Came out perfect. Loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Wonderful recipe, I cooked a 7 pound prime rid and really pumped the garlic to it. The favor was wonderful. I look forward to this every year. Ben
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigben04064

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saco, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Excellent!! First time cooking Prime Rib and it turn out to be a complete success!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tatissitat

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States