Garden Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I have made this 3 times now. I always follow the basic recipe but I never make the roux to thicken it as I have been freezing this for this winter. A little cream and butter when reheating is a delicious addition to this fresh tasting soup. This is now, my go to recipe to use up our summer bounty of heirloom tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
We loved it. I added the garlic and onions and balsamic vinegar recommended by another cook who reviewed this recipe. Turned out great. I pealed and chopped my tomatoes. I used a hand blender to puree the soup. I will make It again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Yes we love this fresh made tomato soup. Even the grandkids raved about it. I have passed it on to several friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean's
Living In: Lakebay, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Thank you, Charlotte for sharing this recipe. Big hit in my family and I followed it to the "t".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nanby
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This soup was basically on the right track. However, not exactly what I was looking for. I'd probably leave out the cloves next time. I noticed a lot of people changed the recipe considerably to get it to their liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanby

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
made this tonite with some changes from the reviews. Good soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parkville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This was my first time making homeade tomato soup, and it was well worth it! I had so many garden tomatoes left over this year I froze tons of them since I use them rather frequently. I pulled out several freezer bags of my best beefsteak tomatoes and placed them in a bath a hot water. The skins came right off. I followed the recipe pretty closely, except I do not have a food mill so after cooking all together, I cooled the soup and then pureed it in my food processor until it was the right consistency. I also added a little bit of heat with a few garden peppers, some garlic, and basil at the end. It was by far the best tomato soup I have ever eaten. I ate a huge bowl of it before the bread I was making to go with it was even done. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingMama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I love this recipe. It is so easy to make. I have a few tomatoes left from the harvest and had to use them up so I thought I would give this a try. I cooked the tomatoes with garlic and onion and after the 20 minutes as directed I used my immersion blender. I put all of that blended concoction into a sieve and worked it until it no longer had any liquid left in it. I only had tiny tomatoes so there were a lot of seeds but if i had large tomatoes I don't think I would even put it through the sieve. I did the rest as directed. The only thing I would question is the 6 servings. We only got 2 large bowls out of this so I'm not sure how you would feed 6 with this amount. Maybe my liquid reduced too much as the tomatoes cooked. I did add some cream I had to get rid of but I don't think you need to add cream or milk. It would be delicious as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Delicious and easy to prepare. No need to use blender or food mill. I removed skins from tomatoes by dropping into boiling water for only a few minutes. Skin removes easily. Once cool, I crush the tomatoes by hand. Used ground cloves (few pinches), garlic powder and whole onion sliced in 1/2. Before serving, I removed the onion. Served with grilled cheese sandwich. Delicious on a chilly autumn day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I've used this soup recipe for a couple of years, and we love it. But I do tweak it. I think the key to any top-notch soup is a hearty, homemade chicken broth. I always have some in the freezer, and I have a review for it on this site. I won't make soup without it. I mixed the soup ingredients in my Vita Mix blender even before cooking it. Added basil and crushed red peppers. Careful with the cloves -- I didn't have whole, so used powdered and it doesn't take much to overwhelm the soup. Use a tiny pinch. We add a bit of half and half. Now I use 2 T. of balsamic, as someone else suggested. Good to the last drop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 762) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States