Frosted Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
YUMMY! I followed the exact recipe only I did not use canned frosting. I used 2 tablespoons butter, melted, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract, 2 cups confectioners' sugar, 1 medium ripe banana, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1/4 teaspoon lemon juice. The cake was a cross between cake & a bar. The only change I will make next time will be adding some chopped walnuts either to the cake or maybe just sprinkle on top of the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Yummy! Rave reviews by all who ate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAltmiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dixon, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This recipe is excellent, but I wouldn't call it "banana bars." It is definitely cakey. Makes a great banana cake or muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
My kids love these I follwo the recipes but added a 16 oz bag of dark chocolate chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Made according to the recipe except I used a homemade cream cheese frosting. Thought they were too heavy and although edible, not to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Extreme
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
These are Very good. I did however substitute splenda for regular sugar. I used regular frosting and they were delicious. I think I will try the splenda/sugar mix next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Delicious! I also had to use a 9X13 pan as I don't have a 10x15, but with 35min of cook time (started checking at 25 minutes) they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
These bars are simply phenomenal! I’ve made these a good number of times since first trying them a few months ago. The two things I did differently was to add chopped walnuts per family requests, and used 3 ripe bananas. Despite the fact that 3 bananas gives more than a cup, it is unnecessary to increase any dry ingredients to compensate for the extra moisture. In fact it works in the bars benenfit both in flavor and moisture. As recommended by another reviewer, I made the Whipped Cream Cheese Frosting by Tom. Between the lightness of the bars and the delicate frosting these bars are truly to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Good but thought it needed alittle more banana favor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glenwood City, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 682) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States