Frosted Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Although not bad, I've made (and sampled) many banana bars that are far better than these were. Since I had several perfectly ripened, snack-size bananas that needed to be used up quickly, I decided to give this a whirl. If for nothing other than finding a use for bananas that would have otherwise gone to waste, I'm glad to have stumbled upon this easy recipe. NOTE: One reviewer suggested refrigerating these to make cutting easier. Doing so actually made my bars taste worse! Even at room temperature, my bars tasted "off." I attribute this to placing them in the fridge in the first place (it altered their texture). :( Mishap aside, these just aren't for me. Maybe these will float your boat, but they didn't mine. Thanks anyways, deltaj. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I took these to a neighbors house for a dessert, the kids ate almost the entire pan! Major hit with kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Liberty, Iowa, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
These had a great flavor and I liked them a lot, but I'm not sure what I did wrong, because these came out moist, but crumbly like a box cake mix instead of dense and chewy like I would expect a "bar" to be. They fell apart easily when trying to cut them and get them out of the pan. I frosted them with a cream cheese icing and they tasted great. Just need to tweak the recipe somehow to get them to come out more dense for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
OMG! These were excellent, I also added 3/4 cup of butterscotch chips and 3/4 cup of walnuts and couldn't keep them in the house! Def 5 star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bourbonnais, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
My family ate these so fast, they were awesome. They were best a little cold. Would definitely recommend this to everyoneA++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
So simple, so fast, so good! Home made frosting a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Definitely a new family favourite! So quick and easy, with delicious results. I sprinkled chopped walnuts over the icing for a bit of crunch. Used light sour cream with no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Made this cake in a 12X17 pan, so baked for only about 15 minutes. Used a home-made cream cheese frosting. YUM! Loved by the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookbook Junkie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Great recipe. I added a bit of cinnamon and chocolate chips. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Everyone loved these, super moist. I make homemade cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 681) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States