Frosted Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
My kids new favorite! They are moist and delicous. Keep them in the fridge. Make your own frosting - the time is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
These are really good, great banana flavor. Only problem I have is these are not dense enough to be considered a "bar". I was expecting something dense, and this turned out for me like a very thin cake. I will make these again but use a 9x13 pan so it's more of a cake than a thin layer. I topped these with mini chocolate chips also. I followed the recipe as written and baked them for 22 minutes which was perfect. If you need to store these after frosting them, let them set out for awhile after frosting. They are much easier to store if layering because the the frosting will "dry" a bit and allow you to layer them. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
AWESOME! I used the icing from Laura Jean's review. Turned out delicious!! Will be making this again. Great use of over-ripe banans, it is a nice change from banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baily

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
These were pretty good and easy to make. Very similar to banana bread in a cake like form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Delicious! These bars are easy and fantastic! Definitely a crowd pleaser! I used the "whipped cream cheese frosting" found here: allrecipes Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting and it turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Really good - a very reliable recipe for a delicious cake. Not sure why it's called a bar but who cares - it's GOOD. Made this several times. Last time I made 1-1/2 times the recipe and it was the perfect amount of batter for my 11x15" Wilton cake pan - which serves 40 guests. Frost it with real cream cheese icing because it's worth it. Keeps well in the fridge so you can make it a day ahead for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PieKid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Really Great! Good to make and freeze to pull out for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by housgrll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
these are sooo good ,wouldnt change a thing.thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
These were good. A great alternative to plain old banana bread when you have ripe bananas. Made them in a 9x13 dish and once cooled I frosted them with homemade cream cheese frosting that I added some peanut butter to. Yum. Peanut butter and bananas. Delicious. Thanks for a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PantryDreams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Delicious! I used whole wheat flour instead of white and made my own frosting (Cream Cheese Frosting II from this site). Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 191-200 (of 672) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States