Frosted Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I wasnt impressed with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
These are somewhere between a cake and a bread and are AMAZING! I probably ended up with 1.5 cups of mashed bananas, but otherwise, followed the recipe exactly. As suggested by another reviewer, I iced with the whipped cream cream cheese icing (also found on allrecipes), and it worked wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seahawk07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
These were easy to make and yummy! I used homemade cream cheese frosting--if you're going to make something from scratch, why slather fake stuff on top? They're more like cake than a bar, and they taste better chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Made recipe exactly as printed and it was amazing. I thought my husband would eat it at one seating but he had to fight me for it! Used the 10 x 15 inch jelly roll pan and baked for 27 minutes - it was perfect. Even the store bought cream cheese frosting was very good on it. Used 4 small to medium bananas and it was not too much, it was probably 1 1/2 to 2 cups. Definitely a keeper recipe to make again and again...very easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: North Prairie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
These had good flavor and were very moist. I used chocolate frosting on the top.... but if I made it again I would definitely use a cream cheese frosting. It was a great alternative to banana bread for using up extremely ripe bananas. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
YUMMY and beloved by all. I did use butter instead of shortening--will try it with coconut oil next time. Added some cinnamon and frosted with the Whipped Cream Frosting on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
very good! used 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 all purpose flour, 4 bananas and vanilla butter cream, personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
too much like cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
really good..made several times now, I use 3 bananas, add a little cinnamon and spinkle powder suger on top (tried the home made frosting but felt it was too sweet). very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
FANTASTIC! I made this recipe instead of the one I've used for decades because I had some sour cream I wanted to use up. This is now my "go to" banana cake recipe. My husband couldn't stop eating it. Like all "keeper cakes" it was better the second day and I imagine it would be an excellent freezer cake. I offer no improvements, we thought it was perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 682) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States