Frosted Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
These were delicious. I made a few modifications. I used a cup of vanilla flavored greek yogurt instead of sour cream. I also added an extra 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla and a 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract. I added 1 cup of walnuts when I put in the bananas. I didn't have a 10x15 pan and used a 9x13 instead. It took an extra 10 minutes to bake but they turned out with a brownie type of consistency that was really good. Instead of frosting, I whipped some heavy cream and mixed in some cinnamon sugar and just served with a dollop on top. Next time I make this, I will probably add one more banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenofarkham

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Excellent recipe - I made mine in a 9x13 pan with two medium bananas. Iced with 1pkt cream cheese creaed with 1/4c butter, 1-1/2c confectioners sugar & 1 Tbsp vanilla extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This was delicious! Tastes much better the next day from the fridge! yummmmmers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bambina82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
SO GOOD!! I used 3 bananas, which is a little over a cup, and 1 1/4 cup sugar and light sour cream. I baked for about 30 minutes. DO NOT use store bought frosting to ruin this moist and flavorful cake. The recipe I used is 1 package of cream cheese, 5 tbsp butter(both softened), 1 tbsp sour cream and 1 tsp vanilla in the food processor for just 5 seconds, then add 1 1/4 cup powdered sugar and mix for about 10 seconds. It's a perfect quantity for this cake. If people like bananas they will rave about this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
The cake is really good. I made homemade cream cheese frosting for it and I actually didn't care for it with the banana cake. I have always made this with another frosting recipe that's more like a buttercream and it actually uses a raw egg in it. I prefer that frosting with the cake better. Don't get me wrong I LOVE cream cheese frosting...with pumpkin bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bordertown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Lynden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Wow, this was awesome. Very moist, but light and fluffy too. I liked the idea of baking it in the 10x15 jellyroll pan. I didn't have cream cheese frosting, so I topped it with some whipped buttercream. I can only imagine what it would be like with the cream cheese frosting. I will be making this again for sure. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
These were good, the bars were very moist. The only problem I had was the banana in the frosting. Even with the lemon juice they turned brown and made the bars look very unappealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Sunland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
So good! I didn't have white sugar so I used brown, I didn't have sour cream so I used light vanilla yogurt. I used a 13x9 pan, came out fine. I had a container of store bought cream cheese frosting on hand and it made it a snap. Also, my bananas weren't as ripe as I had wanted so I mircowaved them for 15 seconds to soften them up a bit. Easy recipe & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
EXCELLENT! Very moist you can really taste the banana. I probably will never make banana bread again since I have tried this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Very moist and delicious. A real treat for the kids to take in their lunch boxes :) Will make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forgetmenot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bar Harbor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 686) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States