Frosted Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
These are terrific - very moist and lots of banana flavor. I subbed FF greek yogurt for the sour cream and used a homemade cream cheese frosting. My son-in-law couldn't stop eating them. He said they reminded him of a banana cheesecake he had eaten once. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
These were awesome. I took them to a football pep rally and the ladies in the kitchen tried them and decided to hide them in the back for coaches and themselves. I've had several emails asking for the recipes. I subbed ff yogurt for the sour cream and used white whole wheat flour and homemade cream cheese frosting. SOOOOOOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Absolute best use for over-ripe bananas. I've made these several times and they're always a hit. Today I made them using a mini-muffin pan and cups. They were just as moist and wonderful as the bars. I added about 1/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips chopped into small pieces. Only baked them for 17 minutes. Piped on the frosting to give it a gourmet look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Share
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I made these for a "healthy" potluck at work (horrible idea... people either didn't participate b/c they couldn't think of anything, or they brought something that just "sounded" healthy-like me!). They didn't *really* fit the theme, but they were wonderful! Thanks Deltaj! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Share

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
First let me just say it would be a crime to ice these with store bought icing! Wonderful moist cake with the perfect banana flavor. Very easy to execute. Served for dinner with friends and it was a big hit! We will definitely make these again! Even my very picky brother loved them and ate three! This is also very kid friendly. My son loved mashing the bananas. As a mom who loves to bake I really enjoy recipes that are fun to do together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jas&Nat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Wow! I was not expecting this to be sooooo fabulous. I cut the sugar to 1 c., used light sour cream and made homemade cream cheese frosting with fat-free cream cheese. It was an absolute hit! Will make again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This was delicious! I was subscribed to Taste of Home's Healthy Cooking, and in one of the issues there was a healthy recipe for this. This one was so much more moist though. I used red. fat vanilla yogurt for the sour cream and only used 1 c sugar like another reviewer suggested. Also, I made a red. fat cream cheese icing and it was delicious on this. Thanks for a wonderful recipe deltaj!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Delicious! I used 3 medium sized bananas..it was so moist! hubby loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
These are fantastic! I will use a different cream cheese frosting. I like to make my own. But the cake turns out soooo moist and the snack size is perfect to take anywhere. I'll share this recipe with others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
These bars are the best EVER! I did not use the store frosting, i used a basic powdered sugar frosting and they were fantastic. Could not get enough of them! I think especially for summer that the cream cheese frosting would be a little heavy. I didn't want to take away from the banana flavor! The banana flavor is sooo good and very fragrant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 694) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States