Frosted Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Excellent and easy to personalize. I followed some readers suggestions. Used a 13X9 inch pan and baked for 30 minutes. Had 4 VERY ripe bananas so I mashed 3 and diced the last, and added 1 tsp. cinnamon. I had a tub of vanilla icing that I mixed in banana extract which tastes great with the cake, and on top I sprinkled some finely ground nuts with cinnamon sugar that I happened to have on hand. All together it turned out amazing and got great reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
YUMMY! I followed the exact recipe only I did not use canned frosting. I used 2 tablespoons butter, melted, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract, 2 cups confectioners' sugar, 1 medium ripe banana, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1/4 teaspoon lemon juice. The cake was a cross between cake & a bar. The only change I will make next time will be adding some chopped walnuts either to the cake or maybe just sprinkle on top of the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Yummy! Rave reviews by all who ate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAltmiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dixon, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This recipe is excellent, but I wouldn't call it "banana bars." It is definitely cakey. Makes a great banana cake or muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
My kids love these I follwo the recipes but added a 16 oz bag of dark chocolate chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Made according to the recipe except I used a homemade cream cheese frosting. Thought they were too heavy and although edible, not to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Extreme
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
These are Very good. I did however substitute splenda for regular sugar. I used regular frosting and they were delicious. I think I will try the splenda/sugar mix next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelley Ehresman
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Delicious! I also had to use a 9X13 pan as I don't have a 10x15, but with 35min of cook time (started checking at 25 minutes) they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
These bars are simply phenomenal! I’ve made these a good number of times since first trying them a few months ago. The two things I did differently was to add chopped walnuts per family requests, and used 3 ripe bananas. Despite the fact that 3 bananas gives more than a cup, it is unnecessary to increase any dry ingredients to compensate for the extra moisture. In fact it works in the bars benenfit both in flavor and moisture. As recommended by another reviewer, I made the Whipped Cream Cheese Frosting by Tom. Between the lightness of the bars and the delicate frosting these bars are truly to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 692) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States