Frosted Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
These bars were SO moist! Followed the advice from other reviews, and cut the sugar in half as the bananas were plenty sweet. Paired with the Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting from this site, and it was wonderful. I find they are best served chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
These are delicious and soooo easy to make. Very moist. I bake on a large cookie sheet for a thinner bar, and do a browned butter frosting over mine, since I have some who don't like the cream cheese flavor. Kids gobble them up every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Use 1 cup sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Thy were ABSOLUTELY delicious when I made them. This recipe is perfect for a gathering or just for home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I reduced sugar to 1c & made pour-on-while-warm chocolate icing. As far as the cake - okay, bars - go, it didn't wow me, but it was good & definitely easy to make.Love the idea of a jelly roll pan - more pieces, less cook time. 'Gotta remember that little tip! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
OK I changed the recipe... I am sorry but I did. changed sugar to 1 cup white and 1/2 cup light brown. Had a little more mashed banana about 1/4 cup more and I added a brimming cup of chopped dates all else the same.It took longer to bake just kept testing. Try it, you will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Oh my goodness, was this ever delicious! Other than cutting the sugar back to 1 rounded cup and adding a bit more banana, I made it as directed. Followed the suggestions of serving it cold and it was unbelievable how good it was. I made my own peanut butter frosting, because I don't care for the taste of canned frostings. So good and so easy!! I'll be making this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
These are sooooo addicting! These did not last long in our house, I had them in the morning with coffee, and that night for dessert. Make a homemade cream cheese frosting - don't use a store bought one! I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smach

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Really terrific bars, made recipe as written but without frosting, weighed ingredients for accuracy, used a 10x15 jellyroll pan, no bad comments from a class of 7th graders or their teachers, kids who said they didn't like banana bread were converted. Did not feel the frosting was necessary and I am not sure we would have liked them frosted. They are plenty dense and rich on their own, why gild the lily? But if you do like a very very sweet heavy bar, agree with others that homemade cream cheese frosting is a must -- grocery store icing always has an aftertaste and it's not hard to make the icing from scratch. Plenty of good icing recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by printemps98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Great flavor. Super easy to make. Absolutely LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 681) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States