Fresh Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I made this cake for Mother's Day and everyone loved it. I used less spices like others suggested and the pear flavor was very prevalent. I also took the suggestion of another reviewer and used 1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce and 1/3 cup canola oil and it turned out great. It was easy to make and very tasty. The reason I'm only giving it 4 stars is because it was way too sweet. I used ripe, sweet pears and 2 cups of sugar proved to be way too much. I would recommend using 1 1/2 or 1 cup of sugar instead of 2 if you don't want it to be extremely sweet. Otherwise, a wonderful recipe. I would love to make this again (with less sugar!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I got rave reviews on this from my guests! It was still moist when served the next day and had great flavour. the spice level was perfect and made it better than the average cake. I made the following changes: only used 1 cup sugar ( it was plenty sweet, esp with ice cream and salted caramel sauce from this website). I also subbed ginger for the nutmeg, used 2 whole eggs instead of egg white, and subbed half the oil for applesauce. Next time I will try grating the pear, but I didn't mind the chunks either. A very versatile recipe! I think I will go have another piece now...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
This was delicious! Everyone who tried it really liked it as well. I have never heard of a pear cake before so I had to try it. I didn't have cloves but based on other reviews I used 1 tsp of nutmeg and ground ginger and 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. I also put maybe another tsp of freshly grated ginger in with the wet ingredients. Baking time was spot on. I also did a sugar "crust" to give it a crispy crunch which I do with most quick breads. Just put enough granulated sugar to coat the pan after greasing. Sometimes I do cinnamon sugar but didn't think that would work with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I've been making this cake regularly as it's a hit in our house. It even adapts to gluten free (all purpose and oat) flours very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I was looking for a non-dairy dessert and I've found a winner in this one! After reading reviews I made some changes - halved the spices and substituted ginger for the nutmeg, didn't peel the pears, used 1 c. white and 1/2 c. brown sugar, pureed 1/2 of a ripe pear and used it to replace 1/2 of the oil, used 2 eggs instead of 4 whites. I also skipped the nuts because a dinner guest is allergic. The resulting cake was loved by all. It was very moist and delicious. My baking time turned out to be about 55 minutes. This will very likely become a staple in my dessert repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I made this with a few of the suggestions...I used 2 eggs instead of 4 whites and I used ginger instead of nutmeg because I didn't have any. My family loved this. I also sprinkled cinnamon/sugar in the bundt pan & when I flipped it some stuck. I waited the 10 minutes before flipping but might try longer next time? Delicious & a great way to use up some pears that would have otherwise gone to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Higginsville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Dixon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Made this last night with some pears that I had that were going bad. I subbed out the nuts and added some frozen cranberries as we have a nut allergy in the house. I made it into mini loaves so that I could hand them out and it was delicious. I would like to try the advice of another to remove the nutmeg, use ginger and then add in crystalized ginger chuncks....that I think would be amazing! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I made this for someone else and did not get a chance to taste it. I can only go on their review which was glowing! The gave it a 10 on a scale of 1-10. I'm just sorry I didn't get the chance to taste it myself, but that's how it goes when you give food as a gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Everyone loved it! I left the spices as is. I cut down the sugar to 1.5 cups and used coconut oil instead of canola. The second time I made it, it did stick in the pan - so just make sure to coat the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alimcke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Oh this was really delicious! I had a load of pears ripening quickly from apple and pear picking this month, what to do I thought! Well I made this cake, I was very simple, and delicious. I have to say I did not use cloves, but a spekulaas spice (Dutch spice mix) and cinnamon. It was sweet and I did not use any frosting or icing etc. Sweet enough with out it really. In fact I might cut the sugar a bit next time but over all it was super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States