French Onion Soup Gratinee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
My husband and friends liked it alot. I think next time though I'll use more beef broth than chicken. It wasn't beefy enough for me. I also have a suggestion for those with kids or not enough oven safe bowls. After broiling the bread, broil the cheese on top of it. You can then set the cheesy bread in the bowls full of soup (cut it up for the kids). The presentation isn't the same, but it is just as delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Windsor, New York, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
This soup was just awesome and it was really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
This french onion soup has great depth of flavors!!! I pretty much stuck to the recipe except I used seasoned croutons instead of the bread & I omitted the mozzarella cheese as I didn't have any. I did miss the stringiness of the mozzarella ...gruyere has a wonderful flavor but it tends to just clump up. I did decrease the chicken broth some & used more beef (I used low sodium broths) & I aded a tsp. of beef base which really helped kick up the beefy flavor. This was a fairly hearty french onion soup, I think next time I might add more broth to thin it out some. The wine I used was a shiraz. A glass of the shiraz & a fresh salad was all the accompaniments it needed...thanks so much for a wonderful soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
This is without doubt, the best I've ever made or had. It was better than any Restaurant version I've ever eaten, believe me, I've eaten in restaurants all over the world. you will love this reciepe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
Absolutely wonderful! Didn't change a thing; easy to make; used our home grown onions...this is now our only onion soup recipe. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
SUPERB. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holly3211

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mound, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
This was great. I've tried many french onion soups on this site and this is a favorite. Think it needs a bit more wine, but other than that-perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Excellent, easy to prepare and quick. My only changes were that I skipped the salt as it is totally unneccesary given the broth additions later (even though I used low sodium broths) -- and I used a pre-shredded cheese mixture from one of the now-common pre-packaged zip-lock bags of cheese (asiago, parmesan, mozzarella, etc). Also, I left the bay and parsley in and removed it later without going through the twine tie step. I used cooking sherry for the wine. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
I have searched this site for many recipies for french onion soup, and this is by far the best one. I personally beleive that the balsamic vinegar adds that restraunt style taste that I was looking for! I will surely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chagrin Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
I had never made a french onion soup before and really never liked any I had had; in fact I don't even like onions all that much. I made this for my husband a french onion soup lover. He loved it and the big suprise was that I devoured it too, carmelized onions in all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 750) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup I

See how to make a simple, comforting onion soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States