French Onion Soup Gratinee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Awesome, quick and easy. I'm one of those cooks who uses what I have on hand. It's Vidalia onion season so I used all Vidalia onions. I usually use my own chicken broth, but didn't have any so I substituted 1 chicken bullion cube in 14 oz water. I also didn't have the cheese, so I used provolone and fresh Parmesan. Last but not least, used my favorite croutons because I didn't have the bread. I think I will use croutons from now on; they were much easier to eat. It was truly awesome. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa...

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Absolutely the best French Onion Soup I have ever eaten/made/had!! I am a big fan of making soups in large quantities and freezing them for my housemate and I for dinners, and this is no exception. Since I do love simmering soup all day, I can wait for the onions to caramelize into a lovely golden mess; the smell is heavenly! No disrespect to the recipe creator, but I did use the seasoned croutons and a nice big handful of the Trader Joe's Swiss and Gruyere shredded cheese, and the gooey melting goodness is beyond compare. This is a soup to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This was my first try at French onion soup and the recipe allowed me to look like an expert! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe! My husband, who is not normally a soup fan, will eat a quarter of the recipe himself! A perfect comfort food - try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Best French Onion Soup I've ever eaten. I did cook a beef pot roast and used the broth for the soup. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Allyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Excellent. Took a little longer than stated but well worth the wait. Had swiss, mozz., and asigo cheeses. Three red onions and only one sweet onion. Will make again. Very filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Delicious! I'd been using my own variation of a recipe from pampered chef for years. This put a twist on that. This came out so well. I only used salt, pepper and parsley (dried) to taste. I made it yesterday and had it today. I think having it sit overnight heightened the flavor. Can't wait for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I've made this recipe many times and it is perfect. I've changed many things along the way according to what I have at the time. Different onions, wine, broth combinations and it doesn't matter it always come out fabulous. However, I never sway from the salt in the onion or the vinegar at the end, they're a must! Thank you for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I peddle blooms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Apparently I'm getting to the party about 8 years late, but add me to the list of cooks that loves this recipe. My fiancee recently was glowing over a bowl of French Onion Gratinee at an expensive restaurant, and I wanted to surprise her with a comparable bowl. Bottom line--she loved this soup over the restaurant dish. I used all beef broth--lo sodium, and added no more salt than that required to caramelize the onions. Too, I'm not a big fan of red onion except on my bagel, so I used sweet yellow onions exclusively. The Asiago cheese on top of the Ementhaler was scrumptious and the broth was very hearty. We ate by candle light and the slurping was soooo romantic. Thanks for the best onion soup I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Excellent! Restaurant-quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 834) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States