French Onion Soup Gratinee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
By far the best french onion soup I have EVER made! Sceptical two make a double batch of a recipe I've never made, however glad I did because everyone went for seconds!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This recipe has a lot of sodium so I modified by using unsalted butter and low sodium/no sodium broths. This recipe is great the way it is and I love French Onion soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
My husband, girls and a guest loved this!!! I added leeks to the onions and I only had mozerella cheese, so just used that, but the substitution worked out great. Fun lunch for guests. Also, I made the soup as directed early with the exception of adding the vinegar, and left it in the crock pot for a few hours so I just had to do the last step when people were ready for lunch. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Perfect recipe. No changes needed! Thank you. Wonderful soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Haslett, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Holy sodium! No way would I make this without low sodium or no salt added ingredients. I used unsalted broth and butter, plus I omitted the asiago/mozzarella cheese. It is quite delicious! Some reviewers have said that the sweet onions make it too sweet but I personally liked that little sweetness. Will make the reduced sodium version again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I made this last night and it was the best French Onion soup I've ever had. I used a thick-cut Swiss on top instead of Gruyere because I didn't know how to pronounce it at the deli. I can't imagine it tasting much better with Gruyere, though. I also just used 4 regular bulk onions and that was just fine. And I used dry thyme instead of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I made this soup tonight, on a whim, using what I had in the house....It was excellent! I love french onion soup, and this soup was as good, if not better than any french onion soup I've had in my favorite local restaurants. The only modifications I made were that I did not add parsley or red wine (as I didn't have any at home) and instead of using sliced bread, I used leftover homemade garlic bread from dinner last night and cubed it and toasted into croutons. I also used equal parts of chicken and beef broth as I am a fan of beef broth. I can't imagine this made much difference as the soup was still superb! This is the first time I have made french onion soup and will be adding this to my repertoire! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Watch bread...burns quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This soup was very good! The only problem was that the sweet onions made it a bit too sweet for me. I think it would be even better if you used 2 yellow onions or 1 yellow onion and 1 sweet onion instead of 2 sweet onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I would have given this recipe if not for the balsamic vinegar, I suggest not adding it. Before I did the soup was perfect it was sweet and savory. I added the exact amount required in the recipe and the soup turned bitter, it tasted of balsamic vinegar and all the other flavors were lost. pretty disappointed because it would have been really good otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 762) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup I

See how to make a simple, comforting onion soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States