French Onion Soup Gratinee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This soup is delicious! Seriously the best French onion soup I've ever had. The flavor was rich and well-rounded. I used 4 very large yellow onions, fresh herbs and a good dry red wine. I didn't have enough chicken broth on hand, so I used 48oz of beef broth and 14oz chicken broth. It needed no additional salt or pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This was delicious! My hubby gave it 4 3/4 stars b/c I didn't have red wine and just added additional broth. I used 1/2 t ground thyme in lieu of fresh. The soup was on the sweet side (and I used a combination of red and yellow onion - no sweet onion) but I thought it was delicious, rich and warm. So glad I tried this! P.S. I just realized I forgot the salt when carmelizing the onions - maybe the lack of salt contributed to the overall sweetness? Next time I'll remember that and also use red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Tripled the recipe!! Used half yellow half Vidalia onion- (no sugar needed). Otherwise followed it to a T and it was GREAT. Beats Panera by far (although it does take longer to make and is time consuming))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Made this recipe following the directions exactly and it turned out great! It was easy to follow which is good for amateur cooks like me. I would absolutely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Instead of using the sweet onions, I used regular brown onions - the first time I tried it, it was too sweet for my taste. Second try was much better with just the brown onions. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Wonderful soup. Didnt change a thing. I have made it four times now and just make sure you cook the onions until they are very done. Once I made it without herbs and once with chicken stock only and it was still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I made this for my boyfriend's birthday dinner at his request. He's always loved French onion soup and I'd never made it before. We both thought it was incredible. I read the recipe wrong when purchasing the ingredients and thought I needed equal amounts of chicken and beef broth, so that's what I ended up using when making the soup; however, it didn't seem to affect anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Just like what you would expect from a good restaurant. Thanks for sharing this recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoralTom

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Best french onion out there, and I make it vegetarian! The only change I make is making equal parts of no beef broth and no chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
So delicious!My mother in-law said it was 5 star restaurant quality. I thought every step was perfect and simple. Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leasweetie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 814) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States