French Onion Soup Gratinee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I've made this recipe many times and it is perfect. I've changed many things along the way according to what I have at the time. Different onions, wine, broth combinations and it doesn't matter it always come out fabulous. However, I never sway from the salt in the onion or the vinegar at the end, they're a must! Thank you for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I peddle blooms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Apparently I'm getting to the party about 8 years late, but add me to the list of cooks that loves this recipe. My fiancee recently was glowing over a bowl of French Onion Gratinee at an expensive restaurant, and I wanted to surprise her with a comparable bowl. Bottom line--she loved this soup over the restaurant dish. I used all beef broth--lo sodium, and added no more salt than that required to caramelize the onions. Too, I'm not a big fan of red onion except on my bagel, so I used sweet yellow onions exclusively. The Asiago cheese on top of the Ementhaler was scrumptious and the broth was very hearty. We ate by candle light and the slurping was soooo romantic. Thanks for the best onion soup I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Excellent! Restaurant-quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
This soup is FANTASTIC!! Both my husband and I are huge French onion soup fans and both agreed a local restaurant was the best we had ever had. Until now that is. This recipe is every bit as good as our "old best" we had ever had. Have made 3 times and will make it again and again. Thanks so much Jersey Tomato for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Doesn't quite taste like the classic, but it's still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
DELISH! Perfect savory balance. Cut French bread into slices just thicker than normal bread to maintain crispness in soup. Mix your favorite cheese not just mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrian23

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Photo by Monkeygirlzcook
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Oh wow!! One of the first recipes I did not change a thing.. And followed the exact directions.. So Amazing!! served with TriTip sandwiches and the meal was out of this world! Yes, it's full of salt but I am one of those few that would rather live and eat instead of being miserable with bland foods..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkeygirlzcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
ahmazing make it all the time for my hubby he absolutly loves this french soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Loved this soup. So did my daughter. I was a little worried as I always make my French Onion Soup with congac not red wine but this had nice depth in flavors. I made for dinner and then for the lunch the next day. Be sure to put the bread on top before adding the cheese as I forgot to do this when I made for lunch and could not figure out why my cheese kept sinking to the bottom on the soup bowl while i was broiling. Then when I figured it out I added the bread and it formed the crust like it was supposed to. This soup is great along side a hot roast beef sandwhich so you can dip the sandwich in the soup. This will be my go to French Onion Soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Perfect! I have made this for friends and they keep coming back asking me to make it every time they come for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Safe T Man
Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Beausejour, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 767) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup I

See how to make a simple, comforting onion soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States