French Baguettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Fabulous recipe! I love it!!!! It is my new bread recipe when family comes over and needs a good home cooked bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Wow... I was very pleasantly surprised at how well this turned out! I made this with my KitchenAid. Mixed water, yeast and sugar together in a bowl and let that sit for 10 minutes until foamy. Then mixed salt and flour together in the mixer bowl (ended up having to use 3 cups of flour), and mixed in the foamed yeast mixture. Kneaded that for several minutes on medium on the KitchenAid and then let rest as indicated. used a whole egg for the wash. Also, baked at 425 and put a small dish of water in the oven when I put the bread in to make for a crispier crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe. I followed DivineHealth7's advice and did not use my bread machine and it turned out great! It is crusty and chewy on the outside and soft on the inside. I pulled off chunks of it and dunked them in olive oil with spices and it was heavenly. I will definitely be making this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Loved this recipe. Turned out amazing just like French baguette I used to have when in Paris. The only thing I did differently was mix the warm water with sugar and yeast, then let sit for about 10 minutes until foamy. Once everything is mixed, I let the dough rise for about an hr. Then shape and rest for another hour, and then bake. I doubled the recipe and made 4 loaves out of them. Just fabulous!! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Great bread, it is my go to bread recipe. Always have many request for the rest of the bread and the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Tasted amazing! They were gone in one evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Easy & Tasty....I didn't use the bread machine...just did it in a mixing bowl by hand. For some variation, once the dough is rolled out spread some diced bacon, cheese and Italian herbs over it before your roll it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dingo007

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ridgway, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I recently bought my first bread machine. This baguette recipe was just my second attempt. The first was a caraway rye that was absolutely disgusting. A million rye bread recipes out there and I picked a dud. Anyway, the hubby asked if I could make a French baguette. Once again, there are a million baguette recipes. Good Grief, how do I know which one is better than another. Well, I certainly lucked in, this one was it. It is definitely a keeper!!! It is better than any store bought baguette than I have ever eaten. My only change was to use honey instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
was very good! It's not a very soft bread so it works well for dipping. I want to make this and use for sub rolls sometime! I used the bread machine, it takes about 1/2 hour for the mixing cycle. i remove the dough at that time then put in bowl to rise with the oil as the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This is real deal. Good texture and taste. Also perfect for subs. Thanks Judy for the wonderful recipe. I will definitely bake more of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muhammad Idris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,050) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States