French Baguettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I was looking for a bread recipe that would be the vessel for our french dip sandwiches tonight.....WOW! Upon the first taste, i thought i'd skip the sandwiches & just have bread & butter for dinner...This is the best textured bread I've ever made[could have something to do w/not having bread flour before now :)] I did not use a bread machine, just used my stand mixer...My only complaint, & I don't fault the recipe, is that every time i make french bread(& this was no different) my loaves are rather flat...It wasn't too dense, so i know it's not bad yeast or anything...If anyone has any thoughts as to what i may be doing wrong,please share... Great recipe...Oh, & i took one reviewers advice & added salt after kneading & rest....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hubbardston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Had try this recipe and was a hit!!! it was easy to follow. Thanks for sharing =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CassondraLou
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Wonderful flavor and crust. Added a little bit more flour to the mixture. I didn't use a bread machine and just kneaded the dough. Preheated my oven to 250 for about 1-2 minutes and let it rise in there. Speeding up the time. We made sandwiches with Turkey, Spinach, Caramelized Shallots and Spicy brown mustard. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CassondraLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Absolutely love this recipe. I have had issues in making bread in getting it smooth so it doesn't look deformed; this bread is easy to make and turned out beautiful. Made me proud of myself and my kids cannot wait to eat. I watched the video on here reference this recipe, after putting the ingredients into the bread machine. The video is very helpful in knowing what to do if you have never made french bread loafs. Thank you so much for this recipe it will be a favorite with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This is a great bread recipe. I only give it 4 stars for method, but it is a winner on flavor. I used 2 1/4 cups all purpose flour as I was out of bread flour. I did it without a bread machine as well. For that perfect crust I used a method that I learned when I lived in Italy; after the bread is split on top and risen, I lightly spritz the loaves with a fine mist of water. This provides the crust that makes the recipe the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
easy and perfectly delicious. I used egg white instead for the wash to make a crustier crust. Will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I made this exactly as shown, except I brushed the top with Earth Balance instead of egg yolk, and the bread is delicious! The inside is perfectly soft and the outside was very crunchy -- a little TOO crunchy, actually. Next time, I'll bake it for 5 fewer minutes and hopefully that will keep the crust from getting too hard. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I make this recipe all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cary Odell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kearney, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and the baguettes were perfect. I will use this recipe often! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Just wanted to update my review from last week - I tried it this time with bread flour, and what a difference! I gave it 5 stars last week using A/P flour, but with bread flour, I'm giving it 6. The texture was much more chewy, like a baguette should be. I did have to add about 20 minutes to the first rise. I didn't think it could get any better, but I was wrong! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebinNM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canastota, New York, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,030) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States