Fortune Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
This recipe is one of the best I have found yet. For my first attempt I followed the recipe exactly, but in retrospect I wish I would have listened to some of the other reviewers about cutting down the amount of sugar. Here were some technique modifications I made that were extremely helpful: Use a silicon baking mat (Silpat, etc) on a baking sheet that has been flipped upside down. It will save you from the nightmare of having to grease your pans! I started out using a spatula to remove the cookies from the mat, but kept ruining the edges. After awhile I found that I could just peel them off using my hands without sustaining any burns (the cookies were actually really easy to handle). I just flipped the cookie upside down onto a thin tea towel in my hand, and continued with the folding. I only had one mat, so I would cool it off by shaking it in the air for a few seconds (after brushing off crumbs) and then placing onto a new pan (cool pans work best, or the cookies will start to cook as you spread the batter). Final note: add a little bit of orange food coloring to the batter. They add food coloring into the mass produced ones to give them that nice color, and I found that it gave me a more authentic look (just a little, don't over do it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Good recipe, but it was way too complicated for me to make! I had many failed batches. The dough was good to eat raw, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Wheeee!!! Such FUN! And they really taste authentic! No trouble. Tons of fun. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I used parchment paper instead of greasing the cookie sheet and I was able to spread the batter nice and thin and even and the cookies peeled right off when I took them out of the oven! I did add a little butter to the batter and I only worked with 2 at a time because the cookies cooled really quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I love this recipe! I added butter to the batter and generously greased up the pan before each batch. They were easy to shape and a lot of fun to make. Easier than I imagined. The hardest part was writing my own fortunes. They're not as smooth as a fortune cookie you'd buy but they look great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roxley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Sorry-As submitted, this recipe is disappointing. It worked out only when I added 2T of butter and some water. And even then, I never got the pretty all over golden color featured in the picture. I kept trying and made it several times. This was to be a gift, but I'm a little too embarrassed to give it now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Great fortune cookies! My 11 yr old daughter and I made these for her class Chinese New Year party at school. All of the kids loved them! Great flavor! It did take me a few tries to get the folding down, but they were a lot of fun...and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.Murphree

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webb City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Marshall, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tbmckay
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
These were yummy!! And defiantly easier than I thought they would be. I did add 2 Tbsp. melted butter, and I doubled the recipe and got exactly 2 dozen. The cookies that were not SUPER thin did end up being a bit chewy, so I recommend spreading super thin if you want a traditional crunchy cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbmckay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Photo by ZAKIAH
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I guess this recipe is pretty much covers the basics of a fortune cookie recipe. but what i did is i added 1/4 tsp almond extract, 1 1/2 tsp cornstarch and 1 1/2 tbsp veg oil (you can use melted butter here). The batter will turn out rather sticky and just slightly runny. I cut out a circle on a milk carton box and slather the batter on top of the circle ,scraping the remaining batter off the circle using an offset spatula to get even sized cookies. I also found out that to get the middle to puff nicely, you shouldn't pinch the circles together, instead just lightly hold both ends of the folded circle and place at the rim of a bowl or a spatula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAKIAH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gombak, Selangor, Malaysia
Living In: Okayama, Okayama, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
These were okay, not quite what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States