Fortune Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Very sweet and good. Have made several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
These had a yummy sweet taste (I kept the sugar at 1/4 cup, it was a bit sweet, but good). I added almond extract as well, and I think that was a lot of what the good taste was. I'm really unsure if the proportions are really correct or not. My oven cooked them a lot faster, 400 was too high. I did about 4 minutes at 375. Later on they got soft, even though they were very crunchy before (perhaps the muggy weather outside?) and I tried to re-crisp them in the oven but they burned! So don't make my mistake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Loo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Cheshire, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Excellent! I don't care for the taste of store bought fortune cookies, but this recipe was great! I tripled the batch because I was taking them to a potluck. I also did as suggested by a previous post & did half vanilla & half imitation butter. I also lowered the heat in the oven to 385. My oven is a bit weird & uneven so they didn't look as pretty as the picture, but good enough. My kids can't wait to make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Before tackling this project, I read most of the reviews for tips. I made my "test" batch exactly as For the "real" deal, I reduced the sugar by 1/2, used parchment paper (no sticking at all), 3 cookies at a time and put them into mini cupcake tins immediate after shaping. The best idea was to place the cookie filled tins back into the oven (after baking is complete and oven turned off) for about an hour in order to let the cookies completely dry and darken a bit. They turned out crispy enough to break just like in a restaurant. Making over 100 as part of a bridal shower favor for my son's wedding.....very time consuming but cheaper than ordering them with custom "fortunes". I'll probably dip the edges into a little melted chocolate and sprinkle with rainbow jimmies. MMMMMMM!!! Hope the guests love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
These were pretty easy to make and the other guests had fun with the fortunes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
WAY to salty!!!! that is a consumer error though TIP: pour salt into your hand then pinch some into the dough.........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
These were very simple to make (after practicing a bit). I made over 100 for my son's fourth grade international celebration recently. They were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Kris(py)
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
So these were pretty tasty. I wound up putting my cookies back into the oven for a few minutes to get them to breaking consistency. They never browned, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris(py)
Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
made as directed. very easy, very delicious! my first grade students filled them with love notes for mother's day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Blessings
Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
This recipe is one of the best I have found yet. For my first attempt I followed the recipe exactly, but in retrospect I wish I would have listened to some of the other reviewers about cutting down the amount of sugar. Here were some technique modifications I made that were extremely helpful: Use a silicon baking mat (Silpat, etc) on a baking sheet that has been flipped upside down. It will save you from the nightmare of having to grease your pans! I started out using a spatula to remove the cookies from the mat, but kept ruining the edges. After awhile I found that I could just peel them off using my hands without sustaining any burns (the cookies were actually really easy to handle). I just flipped the cookie upside down onto a thin tea towel in my hand, and continued with the folding. I only had one mat, so I would cool it off by shaking it in the air for a few seconds (after brushing off crumbs) and then placing onto a new pan (cool pans work best, or the cookies will start to cook as you spread the batter). Final note: add a little bit of orange food coloring to the batter. They add food coloring into the mass produced ones to give them that nice color, and I found that it gave me a more authentic look (just a little, don't over do it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States